Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Routing Platforms => Topic started by: srijit92 on March 24, 2013, 09:11:44 AM

Title: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 24, 2013, 09:11:44 AM
Recently I wanted to setup IPv6 for my home network. I signed up for tunnelbroker.net service and was provided with IPs. Then I configured the IP address in my DIR-615. But It's not working..

Screenshot of IPv6 config (router): http://i.stack.imgur.com/XTarm.jpg

Screenshot of my Win 8 network Config: http://i.stack.imgur.com/Y15W9.jpg

I also tested http://test-ipv6.com/ but failed...

Please help..
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: snarked on March 24, 2013, 12:09:49 PM
The only thing I noted that was different about your setup vs. mine with my DIR-615 is your LAN IPv6 address is set to the "::1" of your subnet, while I let my float to the natural MAC-generated address.

Try setting it to 2001:470:19:1292:BAA3:86FF:FE4A:043E and see if that makes a difference.
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 24, 2013, 07:36:35 PM
No change. I cannot even ping a IPv6 fro mrouter's built in IPv6 ping utility
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 24, 2013, 08:21:56 PM
After changing the Local IPv4 Address to 192.168.0.1, I can ping an IPv6 from router ping utility. But no luck on win setup...
Check attached images.

(http://s22.postimg.org/6bve4wn7x/image.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/6bve4wn7x/)

(http://s22.postimg.org/wy7utvrf1/image.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/wy7utvrf1/)

(http://s22.postimg.org/yrfcvy1zh/image.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/yrfcvy1zh/)
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: cholzhauer on March 25, 2013, 06:18:44 AM
Did you grab the newest version of the firmware?
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 25, 2013, 06:32:23 AM
Yes I have it.
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: snarked on March 25, 2013, 10:42:26 AM
Quote
After changing the Local IPv4 Address to 192.168.0.1, I can ping....
Is your router behind another NAT device?  If so, that's the problem.
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 25, 2013, 07:06:33 PM
No my router is not behind NAT. I have a unique public IP. I think the setup till router is ok as I can ping IPV6 from router's web interface.
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 28, 2013, 03:09:42 AM
Anyone?
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: snarked on March 28, 2013, 11:54:44 AM
Your local IPv4 address for the tunnel should be your public IPv4 address.
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 28, 2013, 05:39:15 PM
Its not same.
IPv6 Connection Type :   IPv6 in IPv4 Tunnel
Network Status :   Connected
WAN IPv6 Address :   2001:470:18:1292::2/64
IPv6 Default Gateway :   2001:470:18:1292::1
LAN IPv6 Address :   2001:470:19:1292::1/64
LAN IPv6 Link-Local Address :   fe80::baa3:86ff:fe4a:43e/64
Primary DNS Address :   2001:470:20::2
Seccondary DNS Address :   none

My ntwrk devices are not getting ipv6. But router can ping ipv6
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: Jim Whitby on March 29, 2013, 12:03:07 AM
In the ipv6 setup page.
Do you have the following options?

Enable automatic IPv6 address assignment :   
Enable Automatic DHCP-PD in LAN :   
Autoconfiguration Type :    
Router Advertisement Lifetime :      (minutes)

If so, try checking the boxes to enabled,
set the type to SLAAC+RDNSS
and lifetime of 1440.

Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 29, 2013, 12:06:08 AM
See my configurations :

Enable Autoconfiguration :   Yes
Autoconfiguration Type :    Stateful DHCPv6 
IPv6 Address Range (Start) :      2001:470:19:1292:0:0:0:2
Stateful (DHCPv6) :      : 2001:470:19:1292:0:0:0:ffe
IPv6 Address Lifetime:      30
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: snarked on March 29, 2013, 10:52:48 AM
Your local IPv4 address isn't your assigned globally reachable IPv4 address.
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on March 29, 2013, 06:49:51 PM
Attached my TunnelBroker and DLink COnfigs. Please see my config and tell me If i need to change anything.

(http://www.postimg.com/thumbs/112000/rr-111503.jpg) (http://www.postimg.com/image/112000/rr-111503.jpg)
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: Jim Whitby on March 30, 2013, 01:11:03 PM
Autoconfiguration Type:

What are the options?

DHCPv6 requires a dhcp server, which, I don't think, is in the router for ipv6 ( I have an 815 ).
If RDNSS is available, try it.

Also:

The local IPv4 address should match the tunnel ipv4 address at he.net.
On the tunnel broker page  ( create new tunnel ) it shows the ipv4 you have connected with, use that address for the router local ipv4 address and the ipv4 address of the tunnel.
( Presuming you are behind the router for the connection )
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: srijit92 on September 30, 2013, 10:26:39 AM
Finally I solved the problem and made IPv6 work flawlessly. Here is the video tutorial : http://srijit.com/how-to-configure-ipv6-connectivity-with-tunnel-broker-service-on-dlink-dir-615-router/ (http://srijit.com/how-to-configure-ipv6-connectivity-with-tunnel-broker-service-on-dlink-dir-615-router/)
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: duif on February 19, 2015, 07:45:42 AM
Hi srijit92, the video-tutorial was very helpful for me... :)
Thanks.. :)
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: KlausKlein on May 15, 2019, 10:20:23 AM
Can u help me?
Title: Re: Setup IPv6 in IPv4 tunnel on DLink DIR-615
Post by: rahulparekh on September 18, 2019, 03:32:37 AM
srijit92 bhai... thank you ! Nice video tutorial.