Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 Basics & Questions & General Chatter => Topic started by: keamas on November 06, 2014, 11:52:38 PM

Title: IPv6 network with multiple VLANs and SLAAC DHCP default gateway.
Post by: keamas on November 06, 2014, 11:52:38 PM
Hi,
my ipv6 home lab lookes like this:

(http://www11.pic-upload.de/17.10.14/e1nhjp1stiep.png)

I have multiple VLANs
VLAN 100 Server
VLAN 200 DMZ
VLAN 300 Clients

I got the DHCP Server running on my Windows 2008 Server.
All my Clients in the VLAN 100 where the Windows Server is located get a IPv6 Address with DNS and also a default gateway with this commands:

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 set int 11 routerdiscovery=enable
Ok.
C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 set int 11 advertise=enable
Ok.
C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 set int 11 advertisedefaultroute=enable
Ok.
C:\Windows\system32> netsh int ipv6 set int 11 advertisedrouterlifetime=1800
Ok.
C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 set int 11 forwarding=enable
Ok.
C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 set route 2001:xxx:xxx:0002::/64 11 :: publish=yes
Ok.

[b]This prefix is for the Server LAN.
But it was not possible to add another Prefix for the VLAN 300[/b]

C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 set route 2001:0470:71f1:0003::/64 11 :: publish=yes
Element not found.


On the central Firewall I created a DHCP Relay to forward the DHCP requests.

This works also I get an IPv6 Address on the Client in VLAN 300 and the DNS Server.

But I don't get a Gateway for the VLAN 300.

How can I announce the IPv6 Gateway to the Clients in the different VLANs?
The Central Firewall is a Barracuda NG Firewall. Can I do some Magic in the Linux CLI to announce the Gateway or what is the best practice here. Which device can and should announce the default gateway?
Is the default gateway transfered by the DHCP-Rely?
Title: Re: IPv6 network with multiple VLANs and SLAAC DHCP default gateway.
Post by: cholzhauer on November 07, 2014, 05:46:11 AM
Code: [Select]
How can I announce the IPv6 Gateway to the Clients in the different VLANs?

Based on what you've drawn here, the Firewall should be the one that's doing RA/SLAAC to your clients.  It obviously has multiple interfaces to talk to the existing VLANs, making it a pretty easy thing to set up.

Quote
Is the default gateway transfered by the DHCP-Rely

Nope, this is done by RA