Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Tunnelbroker.net Specific Topics => Questions & Answers => Topic started by: qdeqde on February 20, 2017, 10:41:12 PM

Title: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: qdeqde on February 20, 2017, 10:41:12 PM
Hello

today i discovered that my tunnel is not working,no packets incoming
i verified my setup with wireshark that the proto 41 packets are outgoing.

Code: [Select]
traceroute to endpoint ip  216.66.86.122 tserv27.prg1
 5  100ge7-2.core1.fra1.he.net (80.81.192.172)  20.455 ms 20ge1-3.core1.prg1.he.net (91.210.16.201)  15.787 ms 100ge7-2.core1.fra1.he.net (80.81.192.172)  20.441 ms
 6  100ge5-1.core1.waw1.he.net (184.105.80.146)  24.902 ms 10ge2-1.core1.muc1.he.net (184.105.80.22)  29.236 ms 100ge5-1.core1.waw1.he.net (184.105.80.146)  23.740 ms
 7  10ge3-1.core1.ber1.he.net (184.105.213.226)  30.410 ms  36.531 ms 10ge1-3.core1.ber1.he.net (184.105.80.114)  33.118 ms
 8  * * *

Code: [Select]
ping -O tserv27.prg1.ipv6.he.net
PING tserv27.prg1.ipv6.he.net (216.66.86.122) 56(84) bytes of data.
no answer yet for icmp_seq=1
no answer yet for icmp_seq=2
no answer yet for icmp_seq=3
no answer yet for icmp_seq=4
no answer yet for icmp_seq=5
no answer yet for icmp_seq=6

ping 216.66.86.122 does only timeout

pinging the frankfurt server works
Code: [Select]
ping 216.66.80.30
PING 216.66.80.30 (216.66.80.30) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 216.66.80.30: icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=13.3 ms
64 bytes from 216.66.80.30: icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=13.3 ms

tunnel server status says it is UP
tserv27.prg1   Prague, CZ   Up

can anyone help what could be the cause ?

Thank you.

User ID: 34bca5089be584f776a783f121b4dcaa
tunnel id : qdeqde-1.tunnel.tserv27.prg1.ipv6.he.net
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: post-factum on February 20, 2017, 11:05:14 PM
Same here. If it helps, traceroute is almost the same:

Code: [Select]
  3.|-- 20ge1-3.core1.prg1.he.net (91.210.16.201)                      0.0%     1   17.2  17.2  17.2  17.2   0.0
  4.|-- 100ge5-1.core1.waw1.he.net (184.105.80.146)                    0.0%     1   19.4  19.4  19.4  19.4   0.0
  5.|-- 10ge3-1.core1.ber1.he.net (184.105.213.226)                    0.0%     1   46.9  46.9  46.9  46.9   0.0
  6.|-- ???

Kindly ask about any info on it. Thanks.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: kastner on February 21, 2017, 12:52:42 AM
Hello,

I have the same problem.

ping 216.66.86.122 is not working.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: janosec on February 21, 2017, 01:38:51 AM
The same for me.

BGP looks OK, but routing to IP 216.66.86.122 go wrong way.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: janosec on February 21, 2017, 01:42:45 AM
Case with support@he.net was logged with ID: [HE#3416807] and [HE#3417393]. No answers yet.

I would welcome if anyone could help.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: janosec on February 21, 2017, 01:51:29 AM
Here are the outputs from http://lg.he.net/

core1.fra1.he.net> traceroute 216.66.86.122 source-ip 216.218.252.174 numeric
 
Tracing the route to IP node (216.66.86.122) from 1 to 30 hops

  1    32 ms   29 ms   20 ms 184.105.80.22
  2    24 ms   24 ms   29 ms 184.105.80.114
  3    *       *       *     ?
  4    *       *       *     ?
  5    *       *       *     ?
  6    *       *       *     ?
IP: Errno(8) Trace Route Failed, no response from target node.


# Entry cached for another 24 seconds.
core1.prg1.he.net> traceroute 216.66.86.122 source-ip 216.218.252.188 numeric
 
Tracing the route to IP node (216.66.86.122) from 1 to 30 hops

  1    17 ms   22 ms   24 ms 184.105.80.146
  2    26 ms   55 ms   23 ms 184.105.213.226
  3    *       *       *     ?
  4    *       *       *     ?
  5    *       *       *     ?
  6    *       *       *     ?
IP: Errno(8) Trace Route Failed, no response from target node.


# Entry cached for another 55 seconds.
core1.fmt1.he.net> traceroute 216.66.86.122 source-ip 216.218.252.161 numeric
 
Tracing the route to IP node (216.66.86.122) from 1 to 30 hops

  1     1 ms    2 ms   <1 ms 72.52.92.110
  2    80 ms   76 ms   72 ms 184.105.81.214
  3   153 ms  149 ms  150 ms 184.105.81.78
  4   163 ms  145 ms  141 ms 72.52.92.14
  5   154 ms  150 ms  151 ms 184.105.80.22
  6   181 ms  157 ms  184 ms 184.105.80.114
  7    *       *       *     ?
  8    *       *       *     ?
  9    *       *       *     ?
 10    *       *       *     ?
IP: Errno(8) Trace Route Failed, no response from target node.

# Entry cached for another 30 seconds.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: tjeske on February 21, 2017, 02:50:41 AM
Same here (Saxony, East-Germany).

sorry, actually, I'm connecting to Berlin (216.66.86.114), but that is down as well!
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: doktornotor on February 21, 2017, 07:50:08 AM
Yeah, Prague has been down since ~ Feb 20 14:30 CET as well. Verified with 3 different locations/ISPs.

P.S. And the status monitoring page is either useless, or the monitoring scripts needs a rewrite. https://tunnelbroker.net/status.php
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: broquea on February 21, 2017, 09:15:43 AM
We are currently waiting on a remote hands request to complete at the facility to restore the tunnel server(s). No ETA as of yet, but we are aware of the issue.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: doktornotor on February 21, 2017, 09:16:36 AM
We are currently waiting on a remote hands request to complete at the facility to restore the tunnel server(s). No ETA as of yet, but we are aware of the issue.

Thanks for info and quick response!  8)
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: HECZ on February 21, 2017, 12:22:55 PM
Endpoint in Prague (216.66.86.122) is down for a while (due to HW issue) and is anchored in Berlin (216.66.86.114). Now endpoint in Berlin is down too. :/ Unluckiness...
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: tjeske on February 21, 2017, 01:55:21 PM
But they failed at the same time, the same minute. It must be related, not unluckyness. Same/related hosting company maybe? (Berlin: IPB CarrierColo Berlin; Prague: CEColo/Sitel; however, Budapest is "CE Colo", so same as Prague?, but Budapest is working).
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: HECZ on February 21, 2017, 02:29:55 PM
tjeske: https://forums.he.net/index.php?topic=3572.0 ;)
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: oskar on February 21, 2017, 02:30:24 PM
But they failed at the same time, the same minute. It must be related, not unluckyness. Same/related hosting company maybe?
As I understand it, the tunnel server in Prague has been down since at least Jun 20, 2016 (https://forums.he.net/index.php?topic=3572.0) due to a hardware issue. To avoid service interruption, they moved service in Prague (including IPv4 endpoint address) to the server in Berlin. And what happened yesterday is that the server in Berlin failed. That is why both Prague and Berlin failed at the very same moment, because they were in fact the very same server. I would call this a double failure.

Too bad that even in 2017, we are still dependent on HE.net free service to do the job, that is supposed to be provided by the ISPs that we pay.  :'(
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: tjeske on February 21, 2017, 03:00:02 PM
I do have native IPv6 at home. Just at university I need the tunnel, cause I couldn't convince the IT department to switch to IPv6. They'll do it eventually, but god knows when. However, they were so kind to allow my tunnel through the firewall.

Prague-server being now at Berlin is then probably also the reason why some services mistake me being from CZ. If they take usage patterns from genuine CZ users connecting to the Prague-server in Berlin, they might appear similar to mine (also, I'm not too far from the border, in case they're using ping times and such). Bit annoying at times, if I use services that rely on the false GeoIP-database. Thanks for the info.

As for the tunnel, the people in Berlin are most likely not working a night shift to resolve this (I'm not sure how the industry works, though). So they'll respond to the request tomorrow morning, and hopefully during the day, or latest by Thursday, the tunnel will be up again.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: tjeske on February 22, 2017, 02:13:40 AM
Berlin is working again. Now let's hope Prague comes back soon as well.

Thanks so much people at HE! You're the best!
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: checkroot on February 22, 2017, 11:38:56 AM
Prague is responding to ping, but routing still fails. I hope you'll fix that soon.

OT: Are you planning to start offering paid tunnel service?
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: oskar on February 22, 2017, 11:52:29 AM
Right now, it seems fixed. The tunnel server of Prague is still emulated in Berlin, like before this outage. It seems that Prague server is gone for good.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: broquea on February 22, 2017, 12:53:20 PM
Right now, it seems fixed. The tunnel server of Prague is still emulated in Berlin, like before this outage. It seems that Prague server is gone for good.

Prague server is in Berlin until getting equipment bought in the US and shipped into the EU is made easier with customs. There are plans to replace the hardware in Prague and re-home the tunnels back to it.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: janosec on February 23, 2017, 12:27:10 AM
Thank you for the information.

Indeed I greatly appreciate that he.net provides this service for us. Thank you.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: oskar on February 23, 2017, 01:51:04 AM
Prague server is in Berlin until getting equipment bought in the US and shipped into the EU is made easier with customs. There are plans to replace the hardware in Prague and re-home the tunnels back to it.
Great news! Really appreciated!
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: HECZ on February 24, 2017, 12:33:42 AM
Hurricane Electric is the best! ;) THX
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: tjeske on March 18, 2017, 02:26:08 PM
Down again, though endpoint still pingable. I guess just maintenance?

Edit: Never mind. Working again fine. Just a minor hickup. Status page shows all green again as well.
Title: Re: tunnel down (endpoint Prague)
Post by: oskar on April 05, 2017, 11:12:42 AM
It seems that server in Prague has been successfully replaced right now. Thank you very much!

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C8quR45U0AAFNfH.jpg:small)