Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Tunnelbroker.net Specific Topics => Questions & Answers => Topic started by: sonbolHol on April 03, 2017, 03:33:42 PM

Title: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: sonbolHol on April 03, 2017, 03:33:42 PM
hi every body

i ask you many times to help me how to auto update the ipv4 client

because mine is dynamic (it's changing every time i restart pc or connection )

i ask any one of you who kan help me to update the tunnel without visit every time the tunnelbroker.net

thanks a lot
Title: Re: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: snarked on April 04, 2017, 12:20:54 AM
HE has a web page script for that.....

https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/nic/update?hostname=_TUNNEL_NUMBER_
It will then ask for your ID and PW.  Upon success, it will display the IPv4 address and either "good" or "nochg".
Although the URL could have your ID and PW in it, I chose not to.

Search for "/nic/update?hostname=" and you will find 6 results for 5 other threads on this topic.

If you bookmark it, and then click on it via your web browser (or if using any Unix based OS, use wget with the URL in your boot script), then you will update.  The wget method will need the ID/PW in the URL.
Title: Re: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: sonbolHol on April 10, 2017, 02:23:04 AM
thanks for your reply

when they ask me to enter the username and PASSWD they reask me again and again
Q: may i use the username or userID
and for the PASSWD may i use the PASSWD or the UPDATEKEY

because i try it but it's not working

please help me
Title: Re: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: snarked on April 10, 2017, 01:28:38 PM
You should be using the same ID/PW combination as when you log into this forum.
Title: Re: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: SheamusPatt on October 08, 2017, 10:21:32 AM
A belated reply, sorry, but I've also seen the continued reprompting for password.
There's a simple way to avoid it, which is to use the username / password parameters. Eg. instead of
https://someuser:theirpassword@ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/nic/update?hostname=99999
use
https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/nic/update?username=someuser&passwordtheirpassword&hostname=99999

Also, the password should be the Update Key from the Advanced page for your tunnel, not your login password. I've tried both; it seems if the Update Key is provided, that's what you must use. Actually, the reprompting might just be due to the wrong password being used, but in any case providing it via parameters will avoid the reprompting.

Hope this helps
Title: Re: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: Lats on January 06, 2018, 09:27:38 PM
The form of the url is: https://youruserid:updatekey@ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/nic/update?hostname=tunnelid
Title: Re: how to auto update tunnel
Post by: frgomes on January 12, 2018, 01:59:47 PM
Hello sonboHol,

In my case, I have two scenarios:

1. My router updates ipv4.tunnelbroker.net, informing the public IPv4 endpoint.
This public IPv4 endpoint changes only rarely, only when I restart the modem provided by the ISP or when the ISP performs some sort of network maintenance.

2. My workstations in my LAN update FreeDNS (http://dns.he.net) informing their IPv6 addresses.
These IPv6 addresses are served via DHCP by my router, in general.


Notice that "updating" in (1) and (2) involve different methods.

1. When the router updates its endpoint against ipv4.tunnelbroker.net, it employs an URL like this:
           https://[USERNAME]:[PASSWORD]@[DOMAIN]/nic/update?hostname=[PARAMENC]
where:
    USERNAME=frgomes
    PASSWORD=cannottellyou
    DOMAIN=ipv4.tunnelbroker.net
    PARAMENC=123456 (or whatever it is my tunnel ID)


2. When my workstations update their IPv6 addresses against FreeDNS, they employ ddclient which was installed like below:

Code: [Select]
# apt-get install ddclient -y

# cat <<EOD > /etc/ddclient.conf
daemon=300
syslog=yes
debug=yes
verbose=yes
force=no
#mail=root
#mail-failure=root
pid=/var/run/ddclient.pid
#----
protocol=dyndns2
use=if, if=eth0, usev6=if, ssl=yes
server=dyn.dns.he.net
login=terra.rgomes.info
password=generated-key
terra.rgomes.info
EOD

The generated-key is provided by FreeDNS, when you define an A record or AAAA record for DDNS purposes.

I hope it helps.