Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Windows => Topic started by: jochenmuenchen on November 02, 2009, 12:19:39 AM

Title: IPv6 Tunnel and DynDNS?
Post by: jochenmuenchen on November 02, 2009, 12:19:39 AM
Hi,

I do not get a static IP-address from my ISP but I have setup a DynDNS-entry on my router so that i have a static name for my public IP. Is it possible to route the tunnel to that DNS-name instead of a numerical IP-address?

Jochen
Title: Re: IPv6 Tunnel and DynDNS?
Post by: snarked on November 02, 2009, 11:28:56 AM
Yes.  There's a script somewhere for updating HE's server with your new IPv4 endpoint address.
Title: Re: IPv6 Tunnel and DynDNS?
Post by: liuxyon on January 05, 2010, 01:43:17 AM
Yes.  There's a script somewhere for updating HE's server with your new IPv4 endpoint address.

where get it ?
Title: Re: IPv6 Tunnel and DynDNS?
Post by: udha on January 31, 2010, 09:16:39 PM
From the he.net tunnel broker FAQ (http://ipv6.he.net/certification/faq.php):

My IPv4 endpoint address is dynamic. Can I still create a tunnel? If yes, what do I need to do when my IP address changes?

Yes, you can still create a tunnel even if you are using a dynamic IPv4 endpoint address. If your IPv4 endpoint address changes, you can either login to the tunnelbroker.net page and update your IPv4 endpoint address or use http://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_end.php which is designed to be used to update your IPv4 endpoint address.