Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Miredo problem  (Read 9418 times)

keraunos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Miredo problem
« on: September 08, 2009, 09:01:43 PM »

Hi all IPv6 aficionado

I am having difficulty connecting two ubuntu machines using Miredo. I have successfully installed Miredo on both boxes. Both the boxes are located behind separate cone NAT routers. IPv4 Internet can be accessed from both the boxes. The NAT routers for both the machines are different. From each box, I can ping well known IPv6 sites like ipv6.google.com, and many others. Both boxes can be pinged from outside websites which provide a facility to do ping6 on any globally IPv6 address. I am using following websites to do IPv6 ping.

http://www.berkom.blazing.de/tools/ping.cgi
http://www.subnetonline.com/pages/ip...-ipv6-ping.php

Both the boxes respond well to these ping probes.

The only problem is, these two boxes just won't talk to each other. When I try to ping box 1 from box 2, I get the error

ping6 2001:0:53aa:64c:142a:465f:ba07:6d2
PING 2001:0:53aa:64c:142a:465f:ba07:6d2(2001:0:53aa:64c :142a:465f:ba07:6d2) 56 data bytes
From 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae icmp_seq=11 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
From 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae icmp_seq=12 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable
From 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae icmp_seq=13 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable


Here is the miredo.conf for both the machines.

cat /etc/miredo.conf
# Please refer to the miredo.conf(5) man page for details.
InterfaceName teredo

# Pick a Teredo server:
#ServerAddress teredo.ipv6.microsoft.com
ServerAddress teredo-debian.remlab.net

# Some firewall/NAT setups require a specific UDP port number:
#BindPort 3545

This configuration is same on both machines. As one can see, I am using teredo-debian.remlab.net as my teredo server.


Here is the relevant portion of the ifconfig output from one of the machine

teredo Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
inet6 addr: fe80::ffff:ffff:ffff/64 Scope:Link
inet6 addr: 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae/32 Scope:Global
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1280 Metric:1
RX packets:1290 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1816 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
RX bytes:1036085 (1011.8 KB) TX bytes:222821 (217.5 KB)


I have tried everything, including replacing one machine with a windowsXP + teredo setup, and then replacing XP+ teredo as both IPv6 nodes, and the behavior is unchanged. In every configuration, individual IPv6 nodes will talk to outside machines, but will not talk to each other.

What could be wrong here. Can anybody help me here please.

2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae is the node which I always keep up. So can anybody please ping to this machine and see if it is reachable from their end.

Thanks all
Tarkshya
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Miredo problem
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 09:47:19 PM »

What path do you see using either traceroute6 or mtr -6 from one to the other? I've confirmed that I can reach both from my IPv6 enabled host.
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: Miredo problem
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 11:26:59 AM »

I can't ping or trace either.  Mebbe his v4s changed.
Logged

keraunos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Miredo problem
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2009, 04:03:47 PM »

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I will reply again. Thanks. Good to know you can ping the machine.

Tarkshya

What path do you see using either traceroute6 or mtr -6 from one to the other? I've confirmed that I can reach both from my IPv6 enabled host.

Logged

keraunos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Miredo problem
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2009, 06:20:04 PM »

What path do you see using either traceroute6 or mtr -6 from one to the other? I've confirmed that I can reach both from my IPv6 enabled host.

Hi,

Here is the traceroute6 output from 2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2 node to the other node

traceroute 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae
traceroute to 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae (2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae), 30 hops max, 80 byte packets
 1  * * *
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2 (2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2)  0.669 ms !H  0.675 ms !H  0.672 ms !H


So looks like it is looping back to orginating node again? Weird.


traceroute6 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecaea
traceroute: unknown host 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecaea

traceroute -6 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecaea
2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecaea: No address associated with hostname
Cannot handle "host" cmdline arg `2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecaea' on position 1 (argc 2)

Looks like traceroute6 can't even parse ipv6 address?

sudo tracert 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae
traceroute to 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae (2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae), 30 hops max, 80 byte packets
 1  2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2 (2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2)  0.081 ms !H  0.037 ms !H  0.035 ms !H

sudo tracert6 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae
traceroute to 2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae (2001:0:53aa:64c:204b:7240:b9a5:ecae) from 2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2, 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  * * *         
 2  * * *         
 3  * 2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2 (2001:0:53aa:64c:3cab:762d:ba07:6d2)  0.681 ms !H  0.112 ms !H

(Again looping back to source address?)
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 06:33:12 PM by keraunos »
Logged

chunlinyao

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Miredo problem
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2010, 08:08:18 PM »

Because two teredo client are communicated directly,not through the teredo server.They extract the ipv4 address and udp port number to connect.If you teredo client behind a nat, you must config your nat box to make port forward.Be sure your teredo outgoing port not changed by the nat. and forward inbound packets from any address to the teredo client.
Logged