Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Permission Denied with ping6 command  (Read 11872 times)

btillman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Permission Denied with ping6 command
« on: July 11, 2008, 01:07:20 PM »

I run FreeBSD-7.0-STABLE with IPFW+NATD on a Comcast cable modem. This server my LAN well for IPV4.

I signed up today with tunnelbroker.com and followed the docs as best I could but when I try and ping something I get

# ping6 ipv6.chat.freenode.net
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2001:470:4:2d::2 --> 2001:6b0:e:2018::172
ping6: sendmsg: Permission denied
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: Permission Denied with ping6 command
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2008, 03:52:41 PM »

Sounds like something misconfigured in ipfw?

I double-checked from the tunnel-server, and it is able to ping6 that hostname without issue.
Logged

btillman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Permission Denied with ping6 command
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2008, 06:04:56 AM »

You may have something there. I opened the firewall up to allow anything and I got this:

 ping6 ipv6.chat.freenode.net
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2001:470:4:2d::2 --> 2001:6b0:e:2018::172

But still no response, that is no repeated ping messages were displayed as if the other server were responding. The guy from the #freebsd chatroom who told me to try this server posted his screen and he was getting serveral replies. But at least the permission denied message did not appear.

When I removed the allow any rule from IPFW the permission denied message reappeared.

My setup is like this:

Cable Modem = 74.74.150.2

NIC rl0 = 74.74.150.98
NIC rle = 10.0.0.253

so I did this to configure my IPV6 setup

ifconfig gif0 create
ifconfig gif0 tunnel 74.74.150.98 209.51.161.58
ifconfig gif0 inet6 2001:470:4:2d::2 2001:470:4:2d::1 prefixlen 128
route -n add -inet6 default 2001:470:4:2d::1
ifconfig gif0 up

I hope I got that right. I'm still confused as to whether to put in the dhcp address of the NIC rl0 or the address of the cable modem. I can access my router from anywhere on the internet using ipv4 with the dhcp address of NIC rl0 (74.74.150.98). The docs seemed to indicate that's the address to use. Perhaps I gave the wrong address when I was registering?

Any advice would be appreciated.

BTW - I'm doing all this because I want to try and setup Windows Meeting Space with a client. Do you have any experience with this? The new Vista version of Windows Meeting Space says it will work fine over the Internet but only via IPV6.
Logged