Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: sit 0 and sit 1  (Read 3639 times)

gudboy1

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
sit 0 and sit 1
« on: November 17, 2011, 09:37:54 PM »

hi..

i did configure ipv6 for two NIC cards, first i have eth1 to configure ipv6, i did configure and it works but suddenly someone that NIC card. so i have to re-conf it (eth2) but those both card gave different result:

Code: [Select]
eth0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:18:EE:C6:4F
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:28 Base address:0xe000

eth1   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:24:01:D2:2B:D1
          inet addr:202.47.88.XX  Bcast:202.47.88.79  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::224:1ff:fed2:2bd1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:311913 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:105610 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:102114023 (97.3 MiB)  TX bytes:13764699 (13.1 MiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x8c00

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:35:XXX::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca2f:584c/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:1410 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1410
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

lo       Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1593 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:224484 (219.2 KiB)  TX bytes:224484 (219.2 KiB)

sit0    Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: ::202.47.88.XX/96 Scope:Compat
          inet6 addr: ::127.0.0.1/96 Scope:Unknown
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

sit1    Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca2f:5843/64 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:35:XXX::2/64 Scope:Global
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:92 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:172 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:17746 (17.3 KiB)  TX bytes:125612 (122.6 KiB)

while for eth2 it doesnt have sit0 and sit1, why? what is sit1 and sit0 exactly?

Code: [Select]
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:26:18:EE:C6:4F  
          inet addr:202.47.88.67  Bcast:202.47.88.79  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::226:18ff:feee:c64f/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:628364 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10502 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:67415880 (64.2 MiB)  TX bytes:2127919 (2.0 MiB)
          Interrupt:28 Base address:0xa000

eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:40:F4:EA:7D:DD  
          inet addr:172.27.11.66  Bcast:172.27.11.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::240:f4ff:feea:7ddd/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:327438 errors:336305 dropped:292246 overruns:336305 frame:0
          TX packets:838 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:31261577 (29.8 MiB)  TX bytes:86715 (84.6 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x4c00

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4  
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca2f:5843/128 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:35:270::2/64 Scope:Global
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:459 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:589 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:394222 (384.9 KiB)  TX bytes:90240 (88.1 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:145 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:145 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:14879 (14.5 KiB)  TX bytes:14879 (14.5 KiB)
« Last Edit: November 18, 2011, 11:05:11 PM by gudboy1 »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: sit 0 and sit 1
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2011, 05:18:27 AM »


while for eth2 it doesnt have sit0 and sit1, why? what is sit1 and sit0 exactly?


sit0  and sit1 are virtual interfaces that you created when you created the tunnel to talk to HE

See this for more info

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv6#Transition_mechanisms
Logged

gudboy1

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: sit 0 and sit 1
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2011, 07:55:20 PM »

why it gives different result? i did the same configuration for both..
Logged