Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7  (Read 17230 times)

ironhorseman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7
« on: January 17, 2011, 06:07:01 PM »

•   Configuration for IPv6

Here is what I did from the beginning:

1.   Logged into the Hurricane Electric service provider web site.

2.   Created my user login.

3.   Logged into the system and went to tunnelbroker.net.

4.   Selected “Create Regular Tunnel” successfully.

5.   Selected “Example IPv6 Tunnel Configurations by OS (Windows, Linux, etc.):” from http://www.tunnelbroker.net/tunnel_detail.php?tunnelid=89879

6.   I chose from the menu to create a “Windows Vista/2008/7” tunnel configuration
and the following configuration was generated:

netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 71.199.158.1 216.66.22.2
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:7:9c9::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:7:9c9::1

*NOTE*  “When behind a firewall appliance that passes protocol41, instead of using the IPv4 endpoint you provided to our broker, use the IPv4 address you get from your appliance's DHCP service.”  These were the instructions given on the Hurricane Electric site for setting up the IPv6Tunnel.

7. I followed the instructions and found out that the second line of the configuration was generated incorrectly according to notes on the site.  Because my LAN segment is located behind a Linksys WRT54G (a/b/g) router/gateway…presently in gateway configuration at present and utilizing DHCP…the second line should read:
               netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel ( DHCP host address of the client) 216.66.22.2

8.Tested the configuration after entering the configuration by entering the following commands:
netsh interface ipv6>sh interfaces

Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50  4294967295  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
 13          30        1500  connected     Wireless Network Connection
 18          30        1280  connected     IP6Tunnel
 15           5        1500  disconnected  Wireless Network Connection 2
 12          50        1280  disconnected  Local Area Connection* 11
 11           5        1500  disconnected  Local Area Connection
 17          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.{38BCBFC6-D55D-411E-9FD7-95033
0F5F164}

netsh interface ipv6>

9. The ipv6 tunnel,  (Tunnel name=IP6Tunnel), is showing “connected” when the “sh interfaces” command is entered from the “netsh interface ipv6” command prompt.

10. Performed “ping”  commands (based on the information located on the tunnelbroker.net site and the “Tunnel Details” section of the page), on the following locations:
   IPv6 Tunnel Endpoints
•   Server IPv4 address: 216.66.22.2 (Successful)
•   Server IPv6 address: 2001:470:7:9c9::1/64  (Unsuccessful)
•    Client IPv4 address: (ip address of my pc)  (Successful)  
•    Client IPv6 address: 2001:470:7:9c9::2/64  (Successful)
As indicated above, I am unable to ping  2001:470:7:9c9::1; the other side of the ipv6 tunnel; this is ther other end of the ipv6 tunnel which is located at Hurricane Electric.  
Note: I can telnet into the Linksys WRT54g wireless router/gateway and ping from one side of the tunnel to the other successfully, but I can not ping successfully to the other side of the ipv6 tunnel when I am outside of the Linksys WRT54g wireless router/gateway. The WRT54g is currently configured in “Gateway” mode.

11. I have spoken with Hurricane Electric technical support and they suggested a few things that I could try in order to rectify my issues with logging into the network.  Note: We are looking to compile a list of firewall/CPE devices that by default (With no major changes except maybe a firmware update) support IPv6 over IPv4 tunnels. (Protocol 41 tunneling).  If you are passing your tunnel over a commercial firewall to terminate on a machine behind it, then please let us know what version hardware and firmware you are having success with.  So far we have tested in house:
# Linksys WRT54G firmware 4.21.2
# Linksys WRT54GL firmware 4.30.7 & 4.30.11
# D-Link DGL-4100 firmware 1.6 & 1.7

12. I have flashed my WRT54G with firmware 4.21.2 and attempting to ping the ipv6 address on the Hurricane Electric side of the tunnel and still I have no response from 2001:470:7:9c9::1.

13. I flashed my WRT54G with firmware DD-WRT but, didn’t seem to change anything.  Again, I can ping both sides of the tunnel when I am logged into the WRT54G but, I can not reach the Hurricane Electric side of the tunnel when pinging from my PC prompt.

14. I re-flashed my WRT54G with firmware 4.21.2; per the information in question 12 above on behalf of Hurricane Electrics suggestions; and now I tried to reach the other side of the tunnel via ping….no workeey!!!

15. I have an Arris TM5020 Touchtone Telephony Modem.  

16. The Linksys WRT54G is in “Gateway” mode…is this the correct mode that the Linksys needs to be in or should it be in “Router” mode?  Pleae help!  I have worked on this for two weeks and end up in the same place everytime. Thanks!
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 06:10:29 PM »

I think you need to try changing to the router setting for your Linksys...you do want the Linksys to do your routing.

If that doesn't work, I'd like to see a copy of the routing tables and the output of ipconfig /all from your PC
Logged

vivow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 06:53:33 PM »

The WRT54G usually is protocol 41 unaware with its original firmware.
With DDWRT installed, you should get it working.
Here is plenty to read, its a bit complicated to set up

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/IPv6
Logged

donbushway

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 08:48:32 PM »

Have you tried putting the computer in the DMZ. What version of DD-WRT did you try? I  have it running terminating the tunnel on the router no problem.
Logged

ironhorseman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2011, 10:35:01 AM »

Hi Folks,  thanks for all the suggestions.  I have changed my Linksys from "Gateway" mode to "Router" mode now.  I am attempting to configure th parameters and will let you know if I have an issue. 

I have included the "ipconfig /all" output as requested, please see below:

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DWWayne-PC
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport A
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-82-FE-DB-AA-1C
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE Wireless LAN 80
I-E NIC
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-82-FE-DB-AA-1C
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f07:eb7::10(Preferred)
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f07:eb7:c880:530f:320e:
ferred)
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2001:470:1f07:eb7:a94a:1dbc:8031:
ferred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c880:530f:320e:a8f1%13(Pref
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.133(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 1:04:30
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 27, 2011 1:20:1
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::213:10ff:fee8:23be%13
                                       2001:470:1f07:eb7:0:aa:bbbb:cccc
                                       192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-6C-60-C3-E7
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ga.comcast.net:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.ga.comcast.net
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{46EE18BB-311D-4D38-819C-BCB05D129BE9}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\DW Wayne>

I have also changed the ip address back to  the DHCP address that is assigned to the Linksys.  I have also placed this address in the DMZ on my Linksys router configuration. I will try a few more things based upon your e-mails and then get back to you...thanks!
Logged

ironhorseman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Configuring IPv6 on Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2011, 10:45:19 AM »

Hi again folks,  I didn't finish my last post and wanted to post again to answer the questions that were asked of me by Donbrushway and Vivow.

First, I will answer your question Donbrushway:  I am running DD-WRT v24-sp1 because it is the only version that seems to have the option of "IPv6 Support" listed inside of it that allows the enabling of IPv6.

Vivow: I have reviewed this site previously and will do so again...Thanks!

I will repost once I have implemented all of the information and suggestions that you all have supplied...Again,,,thanks!
Logged