Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ modem and 6to4 tunnel?  (Read 5584 times)

jthnetdkeu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ modem and 6to4 tunnel?
« on: February 19, 2011, 05:03:20 AM »

Does anybody know, whether the D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ modem is forwarding protocol 41 packets, so that it can be used for an IPv6 tunnel established on a server or the Netgear WNDR3700 router on the inside?
The ISP is using PPPoE, so either the modem should be in PPPoE mode or bridging as the WNDR3700 is capable of using PPPoE.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
Re: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ modem and 6to4 tunnel?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 05:36:19 AM »

Just to clarify, you want 6in4 right?   I ask because you mention protocol41 in your post and 6to4 in the title
Logged

jthnetdkeu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ modem and 6to4 tunnel?
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2011, 06:49:28 AM »

Yes, the tunnel provided by the Hurricane Electric, which is using protocol 41 packets.
Logged

jthnetdkeu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: D-Link DSL-320B ADSL2+ modem and 6to4 tunnel?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2011, 07:10:47 AM »

Actually I found this blog http://www.flameeyes.eu/devices with a guy not too happy with the DSL-320B, but as far as I see it, it is because it does not handle a subnet of public IPv4 addresses. When only one public IP address is involved and you don't use its DHCP, then it should be OK. He mentions, that all packets are forwarded, so I'll give it a try. It is a rather cheap device, so a possible loss will be small.
The setup will be one public address with everything forwarded to the WNDR3700 router, which is acting as a DHCP server and NAT router.
Logged