Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Multiple tunnels/auto routing  (Read 8022 times)

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« on: March 30, 2011, 11:14:35 AM »

I have a functioning 6in4 tunnel behind a speedtouch 510 v4 nat.

Now I want one for each laptop. I tried to make a second one with hurricane electric. I get the error in quoted at the end. Now, I understant that it can't work from the same tunnel server. But it should be able to work from a different tunnel server, for instance not in amsterdam but in frankfurt, but he does not allow me to.

Is the only solution to use a different broker? Or is it possible to lift this restriction?

Or is it possible to do some kind of autorouting the ipv6 packets between two different laptops, even if they might be off at any time?

quote from he?
_________________________________________________________________
Error: That IPv4 endpoint is already in use. If this is not used by a tunnel you control, and xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is correct, please use our IPv4 verification tool.
 
You currently have 1 of 5 allowed tunnels configured.
 

-----------quote from website---------------------------------------------------------------------
•If you are trying to reclaim a tunnel simply enter your last IPv4 address here. If you have any issues please email ipv6@he.net.
•If you have an official ASN and wish to setup a full BGP feed, please use this form instead.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 11:20:31 AM »

If the laptops are all behind the same ipv4 endpoint, look at using RADVD or DHCPv6 with your routed /64.

You cannot have multiple tunnels to 1 IP, we require unique IPs per tunnel. If it is already in use, it isn't unique.
Logged

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2011, 11:25:51 AM »

I don't know about the other solutions.

But it should be possible to use different tunnel servers with the same ip address. Do I need to subscribe to different tunnel providers to do what I want to do? Why?
Logged

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2011, 11:30:23 AM »

For those other solutions, is there anything I can setup with win7 machines?
Remember, they might be off at any time.

Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2011, 11:35:22 AM »

Have a machine that isn't off. Otherwise no, if they are all off, then dhcpv6 or RADVD won't be of much use.

It is not possible to use different tunnel-servers to the same IPv4 address. I just explained about the whole unique thing.
Logged

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2011, 11:40:36 AM »

But the uniqueness seems to be an artificial requirement, when using different tunneling servers.

Right now, the tunnel gets auto-directed to the machine which is using ipv6. But they can't use it simultaneously.

Having a machine on constantly is too much of a burden. IPv6 is not currently in real use yet.

Thanks for the prompt replies.

Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2011, 12:02:17 PM »

Why not get a router that can host your tunnel?  Your router is on anyway, might as well put it to use
Logged

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2011, 12:13:23 PM »

Buying a new router is the same answer:

Too much of a burden for something that is not in real use yet.

At some point, the ISP/modem manufacturer might provide new hardware or software for free. One of them was provided by the ISP, and I assume they will need to provide a solution at some point to connect to IPv6 only sites. I'm not optimistic though.

Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2011, 01:24:37 PM »

Too much of a burden for something that is not in real use yet.

Just curious...when does it become worth it?
Logged

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2011, 01:57:09 PM »

Here?
- When there are IPv6-only services
- For free, p2p internet telephony
- For ip camera
- For personal residential file server
Logged

cconn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2011, 04:49:39 AM »

too much of a burden?  to purchase a decent router to benefit from free IPv6 connectivity?   ???  gee, spending 25$ to get a openwrt compatible router and learning how to set it up is worth more than 25$, ontop of which you get IPv6-capable routing for your network.  and independance from your ISP; if you wait for everything to be free you might just always be at the back of the bus...
Logged

jmv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2011, 02:18:47 PM »

Well, it's actually the network at my folks place. It's never as simple as you might think.
Logged

onley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #12 on: April 03, 2011, 12:44:42 AM »

Let's do the math......


    Old PC from the back of the closet(Hasn't been turned on in years)
    A couple old NICs (Just gathering dust anyway)
    mOnOwall (Free)
+ he.net IPv6 Tunnel (Thank You HE)
    Killer router/firewall/DHCP server and a connection for all of your computers (When they're on) AND you will learn enough in the process to get yourself ahead of the rollout curve(So you're ready when it becomes, you know, worth it).
Logged

Mierdin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2011, 04:48:26 PM »

Let's do the math......


    Old PC from the back of the closet(Hasn't been turned on in years)
    A couple old NICs (Just gathering dust anyway)
    mOnOwall (Free)
+ he.net IPv6 Tunnel (Thank You HE)
    Killer router/firewall/DHCP server and a connection for all of your computers (When they're on) AND you will learn enough in the process to get yourself ahead of the rollout curve(So you're ready when it becomes, you know, worth it).

The biggest value of implementing IPv6 in your home, then and even still is educating you about implementing the protocol. If the experience is valuable enough for you, do it. If not, don't. IMHO, the quoted poster is absolutely right - it doesn't take a lot of effort or money (my tunnel server is a cheap old thin client with a soldered hard drive), so if you have any interest in setting it up and learning, the means are there to do so.

If you're asking "Why do this" from the perspective of a consumer, the answer is no, you don't absolutely need it now. Not yet, anyways.
Logged

efjeldstrom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Multiple tunnels/auto routing
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2011, 08:59:37 PM »

I set up an IPv6 router at my parent's house using an ancient laptop with Linux on it and used the main router's DMZ setting to expose it to the Internet.  HE needs the router in this configuration to establish the tunnel since PPTP is unavailable right now, but this setup allows me to only need one NIC on the IPv6 router.  Obviously you'll need some sort of firewall for this application (I'm just using a simple stateful one with a couple of exceptions), but I've had no problems with it.
Logged