Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: IPv6 Tunnel Setup  (Read 15854 times)

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2011, 08:04:45 AM »

firewall is good, not about what to use for a dummy interface (default gateway) 10.10.2.1 will not work tunnel broker only sees the public ip address and will not allow me to use another address it says it being blocked by firewall and firewall is open ?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2700
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2011, 08:05:43 AM »

The tunnel broker will only see your public IP address...you need to use the NAT address in the commands you enter into the command prompt
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2700
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2011, 07:53:16 AM »

So your tunnel works now?

If you're not getting DNS, check the DNS server you're using.  What OS?  XP will not use IPv6 transport for DNS lookups.

If you're not seeing an AAAA record when you do a nslookup, your DNS server is not returning them.

Did you enter an IPv6 address on your LAN connections?  The directions from HE only tell you how to add an address to your IP6Tunnel adapter.
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2011, 07:56:09 AM »

I have the connection working but i am cheating, here are the errors i am getting!
No IPv6 address detected
IPv6 connections work, but connections using DNS names do not use IPv6. For some reason, your browser or your OS is not doing IPv6 DNS 'AAAA' lookups.

Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2700
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2011, 07:56:54 AM »

Quote
I have the connection working but i am cheating,

You'll have to elaborate a little.

Did you see my other suggestions?
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2011, 08:29:44 AM »

Ok i added hostfiles to get the urls to work, and went to,test-ipv6.com and that were i saw the errors i listed. on my lan connection i would add the 10. address right and convert to the ipv6 address. Our DNS servers they dont do reverse lookups so i dont think there is much i can do. I am getting there, thanks for the help!
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2011, 08:36:00 AM »

My bad important question you asked win 2008 sorry!
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2700
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #22 on: May 24, 2011, 08:37:18 AM »

You can use HE's DNS servers instead

No need to convert...use an IP out of the routed /64 range you have listed on your tunnel page
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #23 on: May 24, 2011, 08:49:26 AM »

No connection now:
C:\Users\Administrator>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Client-Server:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::eca6:6408:7743:3439%18
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.2.24
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.2.1

Ethernet adapter Server-Server:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8997:3820:70b4:1b3a%17
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.10.3.154
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2700
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #24 on: May 24, 2011, 08:51:40 AM »

I assume you just cut off the IP6Tunnel adapter

You need to assign an IPv6 address to your Server-Server adapter.  I don't know what your /64 is, but you add it the same way you would add a static IPv4 address, but just choose the IPv6 adapter instead.  If your routed /64 was 2001:db8:1:1::/64, you could use 2001:db8:1:1::1 as your address
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #25 on: May 24, 2011, 09:07:32 AM »

here are my settings i add a IPV6 address to the network tab? does this show available addresses i can use?
IPv6 Tunnel Endpoints
Server IPv4 Address:72.52.104.74Server IPv6 Address:2001:470:1f04:1ceb::1/64Client IPv4 Address:71.164.237.24Client IPv6 Address:2001:470:1f04:1ceb::2/64Available DNS Resolvers
Anycasted IPv6 Caching Nameserver:2001:470:20::2Anycasted IPv4 Caching Nameserver:74.82.42.42Routed IPv6 Prefixes
Routed /64:2001:470:1f05:1cea::/64Routed /48:2001:470:8737::/48 [X]rDNS DelegationsEditDelegate to dns.he.net | SaverDNS Delegated NS1:ns1.he.netrDNS Delegated NS2:ns2.he.netrDNS Delegated NS3:ns3.he.netrDNS Delegated NS4:ns4.he.netrDNS Delegated NS5:ns5.he.net
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2700
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2011, 09:09:39 AM »

Quote
Routed /64:2001:470:1f05:1cea::/64
Routed /48:2001:470:8737::/48

Use 2001:470:1f05:1cea::1 for your server-server adapter

Add the address with these directions

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb878057.aspx

Your gateway will be 2001:470:1f04:1ceb::1
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2011, 09:28:32 AM »

still does not work it complains about the server server interface not a dupe. the client server is the interface that connects to the internet.
Logged

CareyG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: IPv6 Tunnel Setup
« Reply #28 on: May 24, 2011, 09:39:12 AM »

now nothing works except the internet i need to just remove this and start over, dont no what the cli commands are to just remove every thing
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]