Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IPv6 won't work on Win7  (Read 7188 times)

nkneumann

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
IPv6 won't work on Win7
« on: April 23, 2011, 06:29:42 PM »

Hi all!

I'm new at IPv6, I just tried to follow the tutorials step by step but something fails and I can't find out what is it, so I'm trying it that way.

I created a regular tunnel, configured it and everything went ok; So I got the commands for Win7, executed it and everything went well...

Code: [Select]
netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 192.168.0.19 216.66.84.46
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:16e8::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:16e8::1

After that, I executed 'ipconfig' and there's the result:

Code: [Select]
Adaptador de túnel IP6Tunnel:

   Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
   Dirección IPv6 . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f08:1846::2
   Dirección IPv6 . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f14:16e8::2
   Vínculo: dirección IPv6 local. . . : fe80::e138:aad9:3421:b46f%30
   Puerta de enlace predeterminada . . . . . : 2001:470:1f08:1846::1
                                       2001:470:25:35::1
                                       2001:470:1f14:16e8::1

So I suppose it's well configured, or at least it seems to be... The problem is I can't reach any ipv6 webpage, I tried opening http://ipv6.google.com, it stays a little time trying to open it but finally gives up... also ping doesn't work:

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\aa>ping ipv6.google.com

Haciendo ping a ipv6.l.google.com [2a00:1450:8006::68] con 32 bytes de datos:
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.
Tiempo de espera agotado para esta solicitud.

Estadísticas de ping para 2a00:1450:8006::68:
    Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 0, perdidos = 4 (100% perdidos),

I have no active firewalls, I also tried disabling my antivirus; Peer Networking Grouping and PNRP Machine Name Publication services are active, I even tried configuring DMZ on my router just in case it doesn't support Protocol 41, regedit is ok so it doesn't contain any 'DisabledComponents' entry... and I still can't do anything :(

If someone could give me an idea on how to try it or what is going wrong, I'd be very grateful!

Thanx in advance :)
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 06:34:41 PM by nkneumann »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2701
Re: IPv6 won't work on Win7
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2011, 08:16:39 PM »

so if i read that correctly your tunnel usedto work on a different machine?

even though you did the dmz thing, i've seen routers that still wont pass proto41.  what router do you have?

did you assign a public ipv6 address to your lan connection?
Logged

nkneumann

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IPv6 won't work on Win7
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2011, 08:29:19 PM »

so if i read that correctly your tunnel usedto work on a different machine?

even though you did the dmz thing, i've seen routers that still wont pass proto41.  what router do you have?

did you assign a public ipv6 address to your lan connection?

First of all, thanx for replying :)

No, my tunnel has never worked, I just tried it on that machine and there's no way to make it work :(
My router is a Scientific Atlanta 2320 R2 model.

What do you mean by assigning a public ipv6 address? I've configured the router's IPv6 part to automatically get an ipv6 IP, did you mean that? If not, how can I check if it's configured that way?

Thanx again! :)
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2701
Re: IPv6 won't work on Win7
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2011, 02:15:01 PM »

Sorry, had a hard time reading it

Quote
Adaptador de túnel IP6Tunnel:

   Sufijo DNS específico para la conexión. . :
   Dirección IPv6 . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f08:1846::2
   Dirección IPv6 . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f14:16e8::2
   Vínculo: dirección IPv6 local. . . : fe80::e138:aad9:3421:b46f%30
   Puerta de enlace predeterminada . . . . . : 2001:470:1f08:1846::1
                                       2001:470:25:35::1
                                       2001:470:1f14:16e8::1

Which one of those two IPv6 addresses is your end of the tunnel?  The top one?  If so, remove the second one.  Is that an IP from your routed /64?  If so, assign it to your local area conection
Logged

nkneumann

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IPv6 won't work on Win7
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2011, 02:37:36 PM »

Ok... I made a mistake configuring it, I guess when I tried to reconfigure it I forgot to delete the old address, so it had assigned 2 addresses at the same time. Just deleted the old one and now it works. Thank you so much! :)
Logged

ingber

  • Lester Ingber
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Lester Ingber
    • Lester Ingber's Archive
Re: IPv6 won't work on Win7
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2011, 06:07:21 AM »

I set up a tunnel with tunnelbroker and got my D-Link DIR-825  router to ping and ping6 just fine.  However, my Win7 PC cannot use ipv6 yet.

I can ping ipv6 sites from the router, but not from Windows which looks like it is using Win7 Teredo.

I suspect that I have to run something like
netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel ipv4-1 ipv4-2
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel ipv6::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel ipv6::1
where the ip addresses were given by tunnelbroker when I set up my tunnel.

Note:  Under my Win7 Ultimate, Teredo was set up by default, but this still is not a true ipv6 connection.  For example, I could not get to http://ipv6.google.com, and now I still can't get there.   Under my Linode VPS, which has a true ipv6 connection, I can get to that site just fine.

I have already set OpenDNS ipv6 DNS
2620:0:ccc::2
2620:0:ccd::2
on all ipv6 Win7 PCs and router, and so shouldn't the tunnel through the router be all that is necessary?

I'm not sure what else running netsh might do, so I am waiting to get more info from someone more knowledgeable.

I have some reasons for not simply playing with netsh:
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118071

I assume that, with more than 1 PC on the router, the local address (I have static private ipv4 addresses for all PC's) there should be no problem with multiple PCs using the same tunnel?

Lester
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 05:51:01 PM by ingber »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2701
Re: IPv6 won't work on Win7
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2011, 07:28:50 PM »

Please see my response to your other post...no need to post in two locations.
Logged