Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router  (Read 6206 times)

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« on: June 22, 2011, 03:32:13 PM »

Hi all, i have successfuly setup ipv6 tunnel on my router and it work just fine (thx for good service), but i want autoconfiguration and default ipv6 routes on client's, what should i do for this ?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2011, 05:05:57 PM »

you want something called router advertisements.  if you google for router advertisements and whatever OS you're running, you should find all the info you need.
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2011, 05:13:15 PM »

yes, i found some info about this, i running linux based os, i have installed radvd, but not sure about configuration, ipv6 still unclear for me to understand ..., i have done following
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/radvd.conf
interface br0
{
    AdvSendAdvert on;
    AdvLinkMTU 1280;
    MaxRtrAdvInterval 300;
    prefix 6613:1:11:5:0:0:0:/64
    {
AdvOnLink on;
AdvAutonomous on;
    };
};
i trying to configure it in similar to ipv4 way, but failing ), and about forwarding, does i need to setup something like this in sysctl or somewhere else?
clients recieving adresses in this range, but looks like does not setting up rotes on client side
« Last Edit: June 22, 2011, 05:17:50 PM by sss123next »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2011, 06:08:02 PM »

I assume br0 is the correct interface

Your prefix is incorrect thought...you should use the routed /64 address from your tunnel details page

Is that the correct MTU setting for your network?
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2011, 06:15:58 PM »

i set prefix same as local ipv6 adress of br0 interface in same range i think, but i may be wrong, mtu is 1450 i gues, i accessing internet via pptp connection, but also have bridge for local network connections, and runningn dhcp server for ip4 on it, and now want to add also ipv6.

Code: [Select]
ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 20:cf:30:c0:2d:dc 
          inet addr:192.168.0.1  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 6613:1::1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::22cf:30ff:fec0:2ddc/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:60792906 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:99608284 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:50464012572 (46.9 GiB)  TX bytes:131262272181 (122.2 GiB)

br1       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:30:4f:49:f8:ee 
          inet addr:10.9.23.84  Bcast:10.9.23.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::230:4fff:fe49:f8ee/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:227750625 errors:0 dropped:839257 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:346030383 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:104933948188 (97.7 GiB)  TX bytes:321173843387 (299.1 GiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:30:4f:49:f8:ee 
          inet6 addr: fe80::230:4fff:fe49:f8ee/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:228035759 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:346032097 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:2 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:108189637351 (100.7 GiB)  TX bytes:322025226252 (299.9 GiB)
          Interrupt:22 Base address:0xc00

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 20:cf:30:c0:2d:dc 
          inet6 addr: fe80::22cf:30ff:fec0:2ddc/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:78631348 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:99548220 errors:0 dropped:46 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:52493321217 (48.8 GiB)  TX bytes:131227200728 (122.2 GiB)
          Interrupt:41 Base address:0x8000

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4 
          inet6 addr: fe80::c2bb:9479/128 Scope:Link
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f14:1b1c::2/64 Scope:Global
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1430  Metric:1
          RX packets:42394 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:25161 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:53417713 (50.9 MiB)  TX bytes:3677706 (3.5 MiB)

ifb0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 86:55:36:16:b0:76 
          inet6 addr: fe80::8455:36ff:fe16:b076/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:34939326 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:34939326 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:32
          RX bytes:13451269834 (12.5 GiB)  TX bytes:13451269834 (12.5 GiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:20772535 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:20772535 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:530004831567 (493.6 GiB)  TX bytes:530004831567 (493.6 GiB)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:194.187.148.121  P-t-P:194.187.150.31  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1450  Metric:1
          RX packets:34939527 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:45598385 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:13311727501 (12.3 GiB)  TX bytes:52679656787 (49.0 GiB)

tap0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 52:0d:3f:48:32:78 
          inet6 addr: fe80::500d:3fff:fe48:3278/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:990 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4728 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:83604 (81.6 KiB)  TX bytes:249303 (243.4 KiB)
« Last Edit: June 22, 2011, 06:20:59 PM by sss123next »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2011, 06:20:02 PM »

Quote
i set prefix same as local ipv6 adress of br0 interface in same range i think

I'm sure the 6613: adddress you listed is not your routed /64.  look at your tunnel page, it will tell you.

If your MTU is 1450, you should change your RADVD config to match that
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2011, 06:21:34 PM »

i will try, thx
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2011, 06:36:44 PM »

i testing with netbook, and have following

Code: [Select]
~ # ping6 ipv6.he.net       
PING ipv6.he.net(ipv6.he.net) 56 data bytes
^C
--- ipv6.he.net ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 4000ms

~ # traceroute6 ipv6.he.net
traceroute to ipv6.he.net (2001:470:0:64::2) from 2001:470:1f15:1b1c:223:8ff:fe7c:fdac, 30 hops max, 16 byte packets
 1  * * *
 2  *^C
~ # ip -6 addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qlen 1000
    inet6 2001:470:1f15:1b1c:223:8ff:fe7c:fdac/64 scope global dynamic
       valid_lft 86294sec preferred_lft 14294sec
    inet6 6613:1::223:8ff:fe7c:fdac/64 scope global dynamic
       valid_lft 86399sec preferred_lft 14399sec
    inet6 fe80::223:8ff:fe7c:fdac/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
~ # ip -6 route
2001:470:1f15:1b1c::/64 dev wlan0  proto kernel  metric 256  expires 86276sec mtu 1280
6613:1::/64 dev wlan0  proto kernel  metric 256  expires 86381sec mtu 1280
fe80::/64 dev wlan0  proto kernel  metric 256  mtu 1280
ff00::/8 dev wlan0  metric 256  mtu 1280
default via fe80::6c62:cfff:fe76:6990 dev wlan0  proto kernel  metric 1024  expires 894sec mtu 1280 hoplimit 64
default via fe80::22cf:30ff:fec0:2ddc dev wlan0  proto kernel  metric 1024  expires 789sec mtu 1280 hoplimit 64

on server

Code: [Select]
cat /etc/radvd.conf
interface br0
{
    AdvSendAdvert on;
    AdvLinkMTU 1450;
    MaxRtrAdvInterval 300;
    #prefix 6613:1:11:5:0:0:0:/64
    prefix 2001:470:1f15:1b1c::/64
    {
AdvOnLink on;
AdvAutonomous on;
    };
};

Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2011, 06:47:27 PM »

sorry, i forgot about one more router in middle between client and router with tunnel

i have something like this

router1 -- router2--client2
    |            |
    |            |
client1     client3

now i need to setup routing for client2 and client3 through router1 to internet via ipv6
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2729
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2011, 06:50:03 PM »

you need to remove that 6613 address too
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2011, 06:58:47 PM »

wait, looks like i have undestand it, i will reconfigure network on this machines and reply than.
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2011, 02:59:28 AM »

i have reconfigured network but have no success, i have make bridge between all routers, and setup autoconfiguration on first, which jave ipv6 tunnel, clients receiving adress in same range as tunnel, but i can't do dataexchange via ipv6



Code: [Select]
ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 32:2f:fe:9e:5d:ef 
          inet addr:192.168.0.2  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f15:1b1c:302f:feff:fe9e:5def/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::302f:feff:fe9e:5def/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1144392 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2990169 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:444544970 (423.9 MiB)  TX bytes:4312405624 (4.0 GiB)


ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(fx-in-x68.1e100.net) 56 data bytes
^C
--- ipv6.google.com ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 1999ms

sss@evil ~ % traceroute6 ipv6.google.com
traceroute to ipv6.l.google.com (2a00:1450:8007::68) from 2001:470:1f15:1b1c:302f:feff:fe9e:5def, 30 hops max, 24 byte packets
 1  2001:470:1f15:1b1c:302f:feff:fe9e:5def (2001:470:1f15:1b1c:302f:feff:fe9e:5def)  3006.89 ms !H  3006.41 ms !H  3007.99 ms !H
Logged

sss123next

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: IPv6 dhcp like autoconfiguration on router
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2011, 10:01:27 PM »

i have solved my problems, what i have done:
1. setup correct prefix in radvd
2. manually added ipv6 address on bridge interface on server
Logged