Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: I'm confused with the IP ranges  (Read 3745 times)

rekire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
I'm confused with the IP ranges
« on: November 28, 2011, 02:35:19 PM »

I set up my network so far that I can recieve emails via IPv6.

Server IPv6 Address: 2001:470:abc2:666::1/64
Client IPv6 Address: 2001:470:abc2:666::2/64

Routed /64: 2001:470:abc3:666::/64

For the rDNS I'm using he.net.

There I set up the DNS for 2001:470:abc3:666::/64. But my server runs with the IP 2001:470:abc2:666::2 not with abc3! How can I setup a PTR entry for 2001:470:abc2:666::2 and not 2001:470:abc3:666::2?

I almost think that I made an error but I don't know what went wrong.

The ranges are modified but you should get the point.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 02:41:32 PM by rekire »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2726
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 02:38:19 PM »

Please unblock your ip ranges, I have no idea what i'm reading
Logged

rekire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 02:43:50 PM »

I updated my question. Now the IPs are valid even if I have other ranges. (I don't like to post public my ip address)

Edit:
Ah I got it. Like you told in "Professional LEVEL" problem: Your MX does not appear to have working RDNS I have to setup an IP from the second range in my case 2001:470:abc3:666::1
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 03:09:53 PM by rekire »
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 04:38:23 PM »

Since you didn't provide real IPs, I made certain rDNS was pushed out on both your tunnels.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 05:03:25 PM by broquea »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2726
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2011, 04:59:38 PM »

I updated my question. Now the IPs are valid even if I have other ranges. (I don't like to post public my ip address)

You could always use the 2001:db8::/32 documentation prefix too
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 962
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2011, 05:13:40 AM »

You could always use the 2001:db8::/32 documentation prefix too
That wouldn't help in this case since the problem was too little information in the post.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2726
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2011, 05:25:23 AM »

You could always use the 2001:db8::/32 documentation prefix too
That wouldn't help in this case since the problem was too little information in the post.

Good point
Logged

rekire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: I'm confused with the IP ranges
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2011, 06:13:57 AM »

I simply missed that the lower ip range is for routing only and not for client IPs and rDNS. Since I'm using the higher ip range everything works fine.
Logged