Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN  (Read 3474 times)

wkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN
« on: January 21, 2012, 04:54:39 PM »

So, I am trying to do the certification for rDNS bit, and when I try to run the check it pops up with: Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN. I know this issue has popped up around a few times, but it looks like i have it setup correctly. I set the server for nslookup to the HE caching server, and also when using the dig command, but it still pops up with this error. Please advise!

nslookup

Quote
> set q=mx
> audiacloud.com
Server:         74.82.42.42
Address:        74.82.42.42#53

Non-authoritative answer:
audiacloud.com  mail exchanger = 20 ns1.audiacloud.com.
audiacloud.com  mail exchanger = 10 mx.audiacloud.com.
audiacloud.com  mail exchanger = 30 audiacloud.com.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
ns1.audiacloud.com      internet address = 98.233.129.44
audiacloud.com  internet address = 98.233.129.44
ns1.audiacloud.com      has AAAA address 2001:470:8:2f7:a00:27ff:fef1:4a4d
mx.audiacloud.com       has AAAA address 2001:470:8:2f7:a00:27ff:fef1:4a4d
mx.audiacloud.com       internet address = 98.233.129.44
audiacloud.com  has AAAA address 2001:470:8:2f7:a00:27ff:fef1:4a4d

dig -t mx

Quote
root@ubusrv:/etc/bind# dig @74.82.42.42 -t mx audiacloud.com

; <<>> DiG 9.7.3 <<>> @74.82.42.42 -t mx audiacloud.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 61615
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 6

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;audiacloud.com.                        IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
audiacloud.com.         86371   IN      MX      10 mx.audiacloud.com.
audiacloud.com.         86371   IN      MX      20 ns1.audiacloud.com.
audiacloud.com.         86371   IN      MX      30 audiacloud.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mx.audiacloud.com.      86371   IN      A       98.233.129.44
audiacloud.com.         86371   IN      A       98.233.129.44
mx.audiacloud.com.      86371   IN      AAAA    2001:470:8:2f7:a00:27ff:fef1:4a4d
ns1.audiacloud.com.     86371   IN      A       98.233.129.44
ns1.audiacloud.com.     86371   IN      AAAA    2001:470:8:2f7:a00:27ff:fef1:4a4d
audiacloud.com.         86371   IN      AAAA    2001:470:8:2f7:a00:27ff:fef1:4a4d

;; Query time: 15 msec
;; SERVER: 74.82.42.42#53(74.82.42.42)
;; WHEN: Sat Jan 21 19:52:08 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 219
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1731
Re: Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 05:21:15 PM »

The caching name server you queried isn't the one the server uses. Either wait for negative cache to expire (you have a ttl of 86400 used, so it gets cached for that long), or email ipv6@he.net asking to flush cache.
Logged

wkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2012, 05:42:14 PM »

Awesome!! Thanks! Yeah, I have waited for 2 days; is that normal?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1731
Re: Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2012, 05:45:48 PM »

Rarely happens, but sometimes it would get wedged enough needing a SIGKILL and then a clean start.
Logged

wkey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Failed to get AAAA from MX or your DOMAIN
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2012, 05:49:18 PM »

If they ran rndc flush on their side, would it accomplish the same thing?

Thanks for the suggestion!!  ;D
Logged