Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: multiple tunnels with one public ip? DNS?  (Read 2435 times)

realdreams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
multiple tunnels with one public ip? DNS?
« on: March 04, 2012, 10:45:08 PM »

I have only one public ip and want to get two computers behind NAT ipv6tunnel. One computer works just fine but the second one won't work... Tunnel connected but ping times out.

I guess that's because the two computers have the same ipv6 address.

How can I add dns to IP6Tunnel interface... I did it before but dont remember how now...
Thanks
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
Re: multiple tunnels with one public ip? DNS?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 05:15:09 AM »

You can't add DNS to any address in the tunnel /64...HE does not delegate this to you.

If you want to add a second computer, use the routed /64 given to you; you can add DNS to that
Logged

realdreams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: multiple tunnels with one public ip? DNS?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 02:03:21 PM »

the client ip address HE gave me is Client IPv6 Address:2001:abc:d:efgh::2/64
I can use 2001:abc:d:efgh::3/64, 2001:abc:d:efgh::4/64 for my additional devices?

I am talking about adding a dns server to the client.

netsh interface ipv6 set dnsserver name=”IP6Tunnel“ static 2001:470:20::2
netsh interface ipv6 add dnsserver ”IP6Tunnel“ 2001:4860:4860::8888 Index=2
netsh interface ipv6 add dnsserver ”IP6Tunnel“ 2001:4860:4860::8844 Index=3

I guess this is how to add dns servers?



Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
Re: multiple tunnels with one public ip? DNS?
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 06:35:22 PM »

No to all of the above ;)

Let's say the Client IPv6 Address is 2001:abc:d:efgh::2 /64  If you look at your tunnel details page you'll see that your routed /64 is something like 2001:abc:e:efgh:: /64

To add DNS servers, do a

Code: [Select]
net sh int ipv6 add dns "local area connection" 2001:470:200::2

1) You don't need them on the tunnel interface
2) You're better off using HE's DNS server because google doesn't even whitelist their own AAAA addresses
Logged