Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Explorer Test - Please help  (Read 8169 times)

yhamidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Explorer Test - Please help
« on: March 19, 2012, 02:20:17 PM »

Hi there,

I have a linux machine with a public IP (no NAT). I set up the tunnel and everything seems to be ok: I can ping6 to other IPv6 addresses, for ex. (IPv6 endpoint of my Tunnel on HE Tunnel Server). Even a friend of mine can ping6 to my linux box. But at the certification page, it displays:
----------------
In the Explorer level, we will need to check if you have IPv6 connectivity:

You were unable to load a content from an IPv6 only URL. Here's an exmple of the IPv6 only URL: http://[2001:DB8::1]/
....
Explorer Test Result: Not passed
----------------

Am I missing something here, tell me please !
If you want to check my connectivity, here is my IPv6 address: 2001:470:1f12:deb::2

Thank you very much in advance !
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 02:43:48 PM »

1) can you access http://ipv6.google.com ?
2) did you assign an address to eth0 (or whatever interface) from your routed /64?
Logged

yhamidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 02:58:46 AM »

Thank you for your reply !
1) I can't access ipv6.google.com
 wget -6 http://ipv6.google.com
--2012-03-20 09:55:33--  http://ipv6.google.com/
Resolving ipv6.google.com... 2a00:1450:4007:804::1011
Connecting to ipv6.google.com|2a00:1450:4007:804::1011|:80... failed: Network is unreachable.


2)
Here is the output of ifconfig:
Code: [Select]
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:9A:69:68
          inet addr:196.200.131.145  Bcast:196.200.131.191  Mask:255.255.255.192
          inet6 addr: 2001:4310:110:1:250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64 Scope:Link
he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f12:deb::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c4c8:8391/128 Scope:Link


Thank you for your help once again !
Logged

yhamidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2012, 05:41:35 AM »

I assigned an IPV6 address to my eth0 from the HE address range and when I do a ping6 to google:
Code: [Select]
[root@www ~]# ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(par03s03-in-x13.1e100.net) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from par03s03-in-x13.1e100.net: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=82.0 ms
64 bytes from par03s03-in-x13.1e100.net: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=81.7 ms

but with a wget:

Code: [Select]
[root@www ~]# wget -6 http://ipv6.google.com
--2012-03-20 12:39:21--  http://ipv6.google.com/
Resolving ipv6.google.com... 2a00:1450:4007:804::1011
Connecting to ipv6.google.com|2a00:1450:4007:804::1011|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.


here is my ifconfig output:
Code: [Select]
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:9A:69:68
          inet addr:196.200.131.145  Bcast:196.200.131.191  Mask:255.255.255.192
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f12:deb::3/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: 2001:4310:110:1:250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1437 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:562 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:267742 (261.4 KiB)  TX bytes:181602 (177.3 KiB)

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f12:deb::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c4c8:8391/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:1248 (1.2 KiB)  TX bytes:1248 (1.2 KiB)

please help !
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2012, 07:02:42 AM »

You're ring the wrong ranges. The 2001:470 address you have is part of your tunnel /64 not your routed /64...fix that

Next, what is that other address?  Might want to remove that too
Logged

yhamidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2012, 08:25:07 AM »

Thank you cholzhauer !
This is exactly what I've done:

Code: [Select]
ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 216.66.84.42 local 196.200.131.145 ttl 255
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add 2001:470:1f12:deb::2/64 dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip -f inet6 addr

and I issued the command:
Code: [Select]
ip addr add 2001:470:1f13:deb::1/64 dev eth0
My routed /64 is 2001:470:1f13:deb::/64

The other IPv6 address (eth0) is autoconfigured (2001:4310:110:1:250:56ff:fe9a:6968)
Now here is my ifconfig output:
Code: [Select]
[root@www ~]# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:56:9A:69:68
          inet addr:196.200.131.145  Bcast:196.200.131.191  Mask:255.255.255.192
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f13:deb::1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: 2001:4310:110:1:250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:837 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:541 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:125910 (122.9 KiB)  TX bytes:550761 (537.8 KiB)

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f12:deb::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::c4c8:8391/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

I did a test with HE looking glass and it's working. However, when ping6 to ipv6.google.com, sometimes it works, sometimes not !!!
and even in the explorer test result, it's saying Not passed :(

Thanx once again !


Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2012, 08:47:23 AM »

Where are you getting that autoconfigured address?  I'm 90% sure that is what's causing your problem
Logged

yhamidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2012, 11:17:05 AM »

I'm on a CentOS machine.
I added these lines to my /etc/sysctl.conf to disable autoconfiguration:
Code: [Select]
net.ipv6.conf.all.autoconf=0
net.ipv6.conf.all.accept_ra=0
reboot the machine and even issued :
Code: [Select]
ifconfig eth0 inet6 del 2001:4310:110:1:250:56ff:fe9a:6968/64to delete the autoconfigured @

but in vain ! the autoconfigured @ still shows up !

I can ping6 google and wget -6 but the test result is "not passed" :)

I'll try to dig it more !
Thank you so much cholzhauer for your help !
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2012, 11:57:19 AM »

What device is doing auto configure on your network? 

Can you actually browse to ipv6.google. com?  What I assume is happening is that you're trying to connect to do the test with that non he address hd that address is pointing you to a broken router or something.
Logged

yhamidi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2012, 02:43:12 AM »

Hi cholzhauer,

I think you are right. I'll discuss it with some guys here and let you know.
Thanx for your directions :)
Logged

marins82

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2012, 10:31:56 AM »

1) can you access http://ipv6.google.com ?
2) did you assign an address to eth0 (or whatever interface) from your routed /64?

I have the same problem, but on the machine ipv6.google.com navigate. But explorer test does not pass
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2012, 10:38:02 AM »

You should start your own post and post all of your configurations
Logged

Vinodtiwati90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Explorer Test - Please help
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2015, 06:52:17 AM »

Hi,
How to create tunnel for explorer test
Please help
Thanks
Logged