Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Turning domains into IPv6-only with NAT64  (Read 9258 times)

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: Turning domains into IPv6-only with NAT64
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2012, 01:01:12 AM »

Why not permanently remove the A record and manually put in its AAAA equivalent?
It's a recursive resolver. It is not authoritative for any domains.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 775
Re: Turning domains into IPv6-only with NAT64
« Reply #16 on: September 18, 2012, 11:31:55 AM »

If your DNS server is not the authorative server for the zone in question, then content filtering is available to you as a solution since you're obviously querying some other server to get the information.
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: Turning domains into IPv6-only with NAT64
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2012, 11:45:47 AM »

content filtering is available to you as a solution
I tested that already. When it is combined with DNS64, it doesn't do what I need. The content filtering is applied before DNS64, so if I remove all A records with content filtering, then there are no records for DNS64 to translate.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 775
Re: Turning domains into IPv6-only with NAT64
« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2012, 11:11:28 AM »

Then if you're transforming all A records, you don't need to remove them from answers you receive, correct?
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: Turning domains into IPv6-only with NAT64
« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2012, 03:19:25 AM »

Then if you're transforming all A records, you don't need to remove them from answers you receive, correct?
I want to remove them from answers I send to my clients. I have some clients that would use IPv4 by default. I want to offer them a DNS server, they can use to avoid that.

That recursive DNS server is under my control. The authoritative DNS servers and the clients are not.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]