Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Windows 7 tunnel does not work  (Read 7822 times)

ntuser23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« on: January 17, 2014, 07:22:46 AM »

Greetings. I created a tunnel on site, successfully entered commands in cmd (but because of using router and NAT I used private 192.168.1.1 ip). Now tests shows me no ipv6 connection, and I need help to find and solve problem.
Windows 7 licensed, router d-link dsl-2500u reflashed to the last.

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter ??????????? ?? ????????? ????:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Eth
ernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-9A-8F-09-DC-A7
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a9c4:2fcc:554f:59b0%10(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . :
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . :
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 250124943
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-4F-3D-A6-E8-9A-8F-09-DC-A7

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:4860:4860::8888
                                       8.8.8.8
                                       8.8.4.4
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


netsh interface ipv6>show interface

Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50  4294967295  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
 16          50        1280  disconnected  IP6Tunnel
 10          20        1500  connected     ??????????? ?? ????????? ????
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2014, 07:31:26 AM »

Are you hosting the tunnel on the router or your computer?

If it's on your computer, you used the wrong IP
Logged

ntuser23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2014, 10:01:38 AM »

Finally, problem was even smaller than I thought.
I tried 192.168.1.2 before, but first I did not know about nuance with the router and NAT and entered external ip, then strange error (something about already used name) did not let me configure even with the right ip address. And I missed this detail. That problem was solved by deleting and resetting interface.
What a ridiculous mistake. >:(
Now:
Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:6c:803::2(Preferred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8148:b98e:308f:90bf%16(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:6c:803::1
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:4860:4860::8888
                                       8.8.8.8
                                       8.8.4.4
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

All tests shows ipv6 connection.

Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50  4294967295  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
 16          25        1280  connected     IP6Tunnel
 10          20        1500  connected     ??????????? ?? ????????? ????

Precedence  Label  Prefix
----------  -----  --------------------------------
        50      0  ::1/128
        40      1  ::/0
        30      2  2002::/16
        20      3  ::/96
        10      4  ::ffff:0:0/96
         5      5  2001::/32

What now? Looks like everything works. Or should I configure something else for better tunnel performance?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2014, 10:11:25 AM »

If you can do a "ping -6 google.com" you're working OK

Nothing else to do that point except share IPv6 with your LAN
Logged

ntuser23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2014, 08:01:59 AM »

Greetings again, have another little trouble.
It seems that on some site it accidentally jumps off v6 to v4 due to priorities, and causes problems. How to increase the priority of the v6 over v4? I tried by console, when was using teredo, but as a result failed it and priorities did not work properly.
Can you give me working instructions for that?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2014, 09:00:04 AM »

Is teredo disabled now?

There's a netsh command to show you priorities, although I don't remember it off the top of my head.  You'll have to ask Google.
Logged

ntuser23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2014, 05:04:22 AM »

Oh yeah.
I ask google, correct a command and then get "netsh interface ipv6 add prefixpolicy 2001:470::/32 45 6".
Now it looks like
----------  -----  --------------------------------
        50      0  ::1/128
        45      6  2001:470::/32
        40      1  ::/0
        30      2  2002::/16
        20      3  ::/96
        10      4  ::ffff:0:0/96
         5      5  2001::/32
Where only localhost has higher priority then HE ipv6. Looks like I did something wrong, because now tests show lower tunnel ipv6 priority than before changes. Can you explain me than, what I did wrong and how to change prefixes right?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2014, 08:09:53 AM »

Yours looks like mine (This is not my router, this is just a client)

Code: [Select]
C:\Users>netsh int ipv6 show prefixpolicies
Querying active state...

Precedence  Label  Prefix
----------  -----  --------------------------------
        50      0  ::1/128
        40      1  ::/0
        30      2  2002::/16
        20      3  ::/96
        10      4  ::ffff:0:0/96
         5      5  2001::/32

If you think they're wrong, do a reset

Code: [Select]
netsh interface ipv6 reset

But you'll have to re-configure your tunnel
Logged

ntuser23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2014, 08:27:29 AM »

Why reset? I just deleted new-added prefix, now everything is working fine, like before.
But I still need right-working instruction, how to increase ipv6 priority.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2715
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2014, 08:43:41 AM »

I'm confused as to what priority you need to change? It looks pretty much correct, IMHO.
Logged

ntuser23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2014, 07:38:17 AM »

It looks correct, it works practically right, but as I told earlier, on some site it accidentally jumps off from ipv6 to ipv4 and causes me problems. It might be because of priorities. I don't see any other reason for that, so I worked with precedences.
Maybe you know another reason and solution of problem?
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 953
Re: Windows 7 tunnel does not work
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2014, 07:52:53 AM »

on some site it accidentally jumps off from ipv6 to ipv4 and causes me problems.
This is not by accident. Modern browsers wait less than a second for a reply before opening another connection using the other protocol. Older browsers could wait far too long on a broken IPv6 connection before switching to IPv4.

A site which publish both A and AAAA records, and assume the client IP address remains static are broken. In fact even a site, which publish only an AAAA record cannot assume the client IPv6 address remains static, since IPv6 specifies that you can have multiple IPv6 addresses on the same interface, and a client using privacy addresses could switch address as often as it desires. Only publishing a single A record doesn't mean you can assume the client IP remains static either, as some proxy setups will happily send subsequent requests from the same client through different IP addresses.

I don't know what problems it is, that you experience, but it might not be a problem on your own end of the connection.
Logged