Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: ipv6 readyness check  (Read 5521 times)

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
ipv6 readyness check
« on: January 18, 2014, 05:19:30 AM »

I had followed all of the steps for setting up the tunnel and ipv6 6 was working but now its not.
I've tried recreating tunnel but I still can't get to any ipv6 sites and test show that I don't have an ipv6 address

any ideas?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2014, 05:22:05 AM »

Several

What's your config look like?
Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2014, 06:48:09 AM »

thanks for helping but which config are you referring to?
please give me suggestions on what to run to get the config you are looking for
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2014, 06:50:40 AM »

How did you create your tunnel?

What does ipconfig/config show?
Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2014, 07:02:32 AM »

It appears that I'm not getting an ipv6 address


IPv6 Tunnel Endpoints
Server IPv4 Address:209.51.161.14
Server IPv6 Address:2001:470:1f06:3::1/64
Client IPv4 Address:98.19.217.174
Client IPv6 Address:2001:470:1f06:3::2/64



Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Home
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6205
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 6C-88-14-15-F8-EC
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::70ef:67cc:220b:c1f9%14(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.4(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 18, 2014 9:12:57 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, July 11, 2021 12:12:57 AM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 377764427
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-D2-24-60-3C-97-0E-70-9E-2B
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Home
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ec82:5890:129f:aebc%29(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2014, 07:04:39 AM »

What commands did you use to create the tunnel?
Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2014, 07:09:31 AM »

This worked he first time setup the tunnel
I thought it was because the ISP changed IP's but even after I tried to correct that it didn't work


The windows 7 command

netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel 192.168.254.4 98.19.217.174
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f06:3::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f06:3::1
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2014, 07:11:05 AM »

If the ip changed did you fix it on the he page?
Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2014, 07:16:08 AM »

Maybe I should try again but 98.19.217.174 is my ip address

Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2014, 07:19:49 AM »

If I run the command again this is what I get

C:\Users\*******>netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel 98.19.217.174 209.51.161.14
You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. If joining a domain, go to System in Control
 Panel to change the computer name and try again. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name.



C:\Users\*******>netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f06:3::2


C:\Users\********>netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f06:3::1
Ok.
Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2014, 09:23:07 AM »

Quote
Several

Can I get a few of the several idea?

thanks

Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2014, 10:04:05 AM »

Remove your tunnel and start again.  I don't remember the exact command, but it's something like netsh int ipv6 reset, but you'll want to Google to make sure.

Make sure that ip is on your account page in the tunnel broker webpage
Logged

marke50

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2014, 07:33:27 PM »

I removed the old tunnel and created a new and ran it again but it's still not working

I'm reaching for straws but should the DNS ip be a ipv4 address


Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : Home
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f06:3::2(Preferred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5d65:2a2:6235:bba3%31(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f06:3::1
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2014, 08:13:36 AM »

DNS doesn't matter.

Here's things you need to make sure are working:
1) Make sure you have the correct IP address of your router set on http://tunnelbroker.com   You mentioned yours changed.  Update it here
2) Allow ICMP; make sure your ISP is not blocking it.
3) Allow Protcol 41.  Make sure your ISP is not blocking it.
4) You're behind a NAT; use the NAT address of the device you want to host the tunnel on instead of your public IP.
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: ipv6 readyness check
« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2014, 10:10:45 AM »

I'm reaching for straws but should the DNS ip be a ipv4 address
Using an IPv4 address for DNS is a good idea until you are sure the tunnel is working. There is still a possibility that the DNS server provided by your ISP is unable to do AAAA lookups. Buggy DNS servers have been seen exhibit all sorts of weird behaviour, when queried for dual stack domains.

If you are unsure if the DNS server is working correctly, then identify v4-only, v6-only, and dual stack domains you can use for testing. For each of those three possibilities you should check that the DNS server gives you correct results when you ask for the A record first and then the AAAA record afterwards, and vice-versa. Since caching can affect the outcome, you need some part of the domain, you can vary and still get the same results. I have a few domains, you can use:
random.he.i11.test-ipv6.easyv6.net
random.he.i32.test-ipv6.easyv6.net
random.he.i42.test-ipv6.easyv6.net
Just substitute a new value instead of random for each test. For example you could use 90td8t to test lookup of A record first and AAAA record afterwards and you could use zwg5cy to test lookup of AAAA record first and A record afterwards.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2