Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Routing among ipv6 subnets  (Read 1268 times)

jlightfoot

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Routing among ipv6 subnets
« on: November 03, 2014, 09:00:18 AM »

I have an HE tunnel set up on my home network, a routed /64 that terminates on my ASUS router (my provider is FIOS); it works perfectly.  I recently bought a second house which uses Comcast as its provider.  I would like to be able to set up another  /64 on my second network that allows me to route between the two locations.  What's the best way to do that?

My thought is I would assign a routed /48 from HE and have two /64 subnets, one for each location, but I'm not exactly sure how to do that.  Update my ASUS router so the /48 terminates on it, then assign /64s to my two local LANs?

Any help would be appreciated.  I know Comcast is a leading ISP in rolling out native ipv6, but it's not available in my area (Vermont) yet.  Thanks.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2728
Re: Routing among ipv6 subnets
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 09:52:16 AM »

I'm assuming the two locations aren't linked right now...do you have a current topology map?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: Routing among ipv6 subnets
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 11:27:32 AM »

Either create a second tunnel for the second house on Comcast, or create your own tunnel on equipment inside your first house to your second, utilizing that /48, and become your own tserv.
Logged