Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: IPv6 tunnel config, in windows 10 ver 10130.  (Read 22171 times)

Lupo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: IPv6 tunnel config, in windows 10 ver 10130.
« Reply #30 on: August 27, 2015, 03:10:51 PM »

I just added he.net's dns in the ipv6 section of my NIC in the graphical interface, was a quick test and it worked.

Walkthrough, just in case:
Network and Sharing Center -> Change Adapter Settings -> Right click on NIC, Properties -> Double click Internet Protocol Version 6 -> paste 2001:470:20::2 in the dns address.

If there is a better way with netsh, I haven't encountered it yet.
If someone with better knowledge could post the netsh command to add the dns server ONLY to the ipv6 tunnel, and not as global, it would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2015, 03:12:54 PM by Lupo »
Logged

ellegi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: IPv6 tunnel config, in windows 10 ver 10130.
« Reply #31 on: August 28, 2015, 12:26:09 AM »

Yes, it works.
I tried also with netsh int ipv6 set dnsservers name="IP6Tunnel" static 2001:470:20::2 primary. It will not gave me errors but if i execute netsh int ipv6 sh dnsserver the settings is not here.

I just added he.net's dns in the ipv6 section of my NIC in the graphical interface, was a quick test and it worked.

Walkthrough, just in case:
Network and Sharing Center -> Change Adapter Settings -> Right click on NIC, Properties -> Double click Internet Protocol Version 6 -> paste 2001:470:20::2 in the dns address.

If there is a better way with netsh, I haven't encountered it yet.
If someone with better knowledge could post the netsh command to add the dns server ONLY to the ipv6 tunnel, and not as global, it would be greatly appreciated.
Logged

bolvan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: IPv6 tunnel config, in windows 10 ver 10130.
« Reply #32 on: October 04, 2015, 10:22:36 AM »

hi all !

Today is 4th of October and "the function attempted to use a name that is reserved for use by another transaction." problem is still there.
I tried 3 copies of win10, updated all, and only one of them succeeded to add 6in4 tunnel. It was enterprise LTSB x64.
But still there's huge problem.
When resolving a domain with both A and AAAA records, system does not query both records, just A.
For example, if "ping google.com" then it will ping ipv4 address.
In wireshark I see only A lookup and no AAAA.
Only if A lookup fails then it tries to lookup up AAAA.
In all previous version windows system tries both A and AAAA and chooses ipv4 or ipv6 based on the prefix preference table.
I reproduced in windows 10 the same preference table as it was in 8.1, but no success.

In case of native connection (ipv6 and ipv4 on the same adapter) things work as expected.

Win 10 is buggy, i understand now why they are not releasing server in parallel as they always did
« Last Edit: October 05, 2015, 12:51:52 AM by bolvan »
Logged

bolvan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: IPv6 tunnel config, in windows 10 ver 10130.
« Reply #33 on: October 06, 2015, 11:50:06 PM »

Looks like windows 10 cannot prioritize ipv6 over ipv4 if they are provided on different interfaces.
Simple experiment.

Imagine there's LAN subnet with IPV6 stateless configuration router and IPV4 NAT.
You have win 10 VM with 2 virtual adapters. On one of them only ipv4 enabled, on another one - only ipv6.

Code: [Select]
Ethernet Ethernet0:

   IPv6-address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:yyyy:yyyy:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx
   IPv6-address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:yyyy:yyyy:1:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx

Ethernet Ethernet1:

   IPv4-address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.20
   Subnet mastk  . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default gateway   . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Windows cannot choose ipv6 by default in such situation :

Code: [Select]
X:\>ping -6 vk.com

Pinging vk.com [2a00:bdc0:3:103:1:0:403:907] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 2a00:bdc0:3:103:1:0:403:907: time=45ms

X:\>ping vk.com

Pinging vk.com [87.240.131.97] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 87.240.131.97: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=58


Now I leave only one adatper :

Code: [Select]
Ethernet Ethernet0:

   IPv6-address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:yyyy:yyyy:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx
   IPv6-address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:yyyy:yyyy:1:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx
   IPv4-address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.20
   Subnet mastk  . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default gateway   . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Windows prefer ipv6 over ipv4 :

Code: [Select]
X:\>ping -4 vk.com

Pinging vk.com [87.240.131.97] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 87.240.131.97: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=58

X:\>ping vk.com

Pinging vk.com [2a00:bdc0:3:103:1:0:403:907] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 2a00:bdc0:3:103:1:0:403:907: time=45ms
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]