Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Unable to reach nameservers  (Read 2247 times)

anshuprateek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Unable to reach nameservers
« on: November 21, 2015, 09:15:55 AM »

Hi,

All of a sudden am no longer able to get results for my domain hosted on dns.he.net nor am I able to dig it.

[anshup@hp ~]$ host nagios.hackalyst.info
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
[anshup@hp ~]$ host ns1.he.net
ns1.he.net has address 216.218.130.2
[anshup@hp ~]$ dig nagios.hackalyst.info @216.218.130.2

; <<>> DiG 9.10.2-P4-RedHat-9.10.2-5.P4.fc22 <<>> nagios.hackalyst.info @216.218.130.2
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
[anshup@hp ~]$

Is there any outage going on?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1667
    • View Profile
    • Another IPv6 Blog...
Re: Unable to reach nameservers
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2015, 12:04:01 PM »

seems fine...

Code: [Select]
~$ dig a nagios.hackalyst.info @ns1.he.net

; <<>> DiG 9.9.5-3ubuntu0.5-Ubuntu <<>> a nagios.hackalyst.info @ns1.he.net
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 46647
;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 2800
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;nagios.hackalyst.info.         IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
nagios.hackalyst.info.  300     IN      A       54.183.223.185

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 216.218.130.2#53(216.218.130.2)
;; WHEN: Sat Nov 21 12:03:35 PST 2015
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 66
Logged

chaz6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to reach nameservers
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2015, 12:35:44 PM »

I had the same issue too, but it has resolved itself now. Glad I wasn't the only one! It is this reason I wish HE had at least 1 out of its 5 name servers in a different AS.
Logged