Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: purshasing a /64 IPv6 addresses  (Read 678 times)

kiyer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
purshasing a /64 IPv6 addresses
« on: August 05, 2016, 11:39:51 PM »

Hi,
My question is that if I procure /64 IPv6 subnet from ISP,what IPv6 addresses can I give to WAN interface of Firewall and LAN interface of firewall? Considering the fact that WAN and LAN interface should belong to different subnet.
I have only one LAN subnet and hence no need for /48.

Thanks,
Kumar.
Logged

passport123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: purshasing a /64 IPv6 addresses
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2016, 07:39:28 AM »

If I understand your question...

My home ISP (Comcast) gives me a /128 IPv6 address for the WAN and, by default, a /64 IPv6 subnet for my internal LAN use.

I can (and do) optionally request up to a /60 subnet so that I can have multiple subnets on my LAN.

While I suspect each ISP may be different, I would be surprised if you don't get at least a /128 for the WAN and a /64 for the LAN.
Logged

charlesmorey10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: purshasing a /64 IPv6 addresses
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2016, 12:58:41 AM »

I believe that you can run all on one net instead of using subnets so every thing will be compunded to the /64 or the /128.
Logged