Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: More devices on one tunnel without router  (Read 1022 times)

mrkcdl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
More devices on one tunnel without router
« on: April 15, 2021, 07:50:59 AM »

Hello,
I would like to ask if it is possible to connect multiple endpoints (in one local network with the same public IP) to one IPv6 tunnel without the use of a router, assigning a different IP to each one.

Thank you for your answers.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: More devices on one tunnel without router
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2021, 08:07:40 AM »

No, you need a router...how else would traffic get routed between your network and HE?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1751
Re: More devices on one tunnel without router
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2021, 12:33:20 PM »

Do you do this with IPv4? No of course not unless your ISP handed you a flat connection with a /29 or greater on your WAN connection. You have some sort of NAT appliance/router. There is still routing. You need something on your LAN to act as that IPv6 gateway/router for all the other hosts. This isn't a flat network, its a ptp tunnel.
Logged

divad27182

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: More devices on one tunnel without router
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2021, 05:09:39 AM »

It is worth noting that almost ANY computer can be a router.  Usually, you just have to turn it on. 

With Linux, it is trivial, and I could help you there.  Other Unixes are also usually trivial.  I'm not sure about "windows", and some versions of it may be deliberately crippled.

Edit: Of course, the computer that you need to be a router is the one you have your tunnel endpoint on.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2021, 06:17:39 AM by divad27182 »
Logged

faheemza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: More devices on one tunnel without router
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2021, 01:29:15 PM »

virtual boxes and bridged virtual interfaces may be the answer. being my messy self i simpley create virtual boxes whenever i need an appliance.
Logged