Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Problem with tunnel on pfSense after replacing cable modem  (Read 137 times)

adhawkins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Problem with tunnel on pfSense after replacing cable modem
« on: October 08, 2021, 08:37:04 AM »

Hi,

I've been happily using my HE.net IPv6 tunnel with pfSense for years now. However, yesterday I needed to replace the cable modem that connects the pfSense box to the internet, and since then the tunnel has been very flaky.

Initially it didn't work at all, then after a reboot of the pfSense box it came back for a few hours. Since then though, it's always marked as 'down' in pfSense. As far as I can tell, all the configuration is correct, with the correct IPV4 address for my pfSense box listed. This address is pingable from the internet.

Can anyone offer any advice or assistance as to how I can troubleshoot this?

Thanks

Andy
Logged

adhawkins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with tunnel on pfSense after replacing cable modem
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2021, 11:48:36 AM »

Been doing a bit of digging on this, and I can see that my WAN interface is seeing incoming protocol 41 packets from the HE end, but there don't appear to be any responses going back. Should I expect to see some?

I've even tried 'ping6 google.com' on the pfsense box while running tcpdump, and I don't see any outgoing protocol 41 packets.

Andy
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2744
Re: Problem with tunnel on pfSense after replacing cable modem
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2021, 05:57:17 AM »

Yes, you should be seeing outbound packets

Did you get a new public IP address when you swapped your modem? If so, did you update your IP with HE?
Logged

adhawkins

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problem with tunnel on pfSense after replacing cable modem
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2021, 06:53:11 AM »

Hi,

Apologies, should have popped back to update this. The HE IPv6 tunnel has been going up and down seemingly randomly.

I didn't get a new IP address, and one of the first things I did was double check that the IP address in the HE control panel matched the real one.

Will continue to monitor, really can't understand what caused it to stop working. I've had a few lockups of the modem since it was installed, and after one or two of them the tunnel has failed to come back up.

Seems to be working now, so we'll see what happens!

Andy


Logged