• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Main Menu

Uptime

Started by cholzhauer, October 14, 2009, 08:16:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cholzhauer

I'm using a Sixxs tunnel for IPv6 access. Well, I was.  It's been down all week and I haven't heard anything about when it might come back up. 

I have two questions

1) What is everyone's experience with an HE tunnel?  I'm sure they don't have 100% uptime, but have you experienced any down time?

2) I have to imagine there are a limited number of "backbone providers" (for lack of a better term) that hand out address, routes, ect.  Do HE and Sixxs share the same ones?

comptech

I've been using a few HE tunnels for about 4 months and I would guess the uptime has been around 99%.  I've been told that the issue that caused my tunnel to go down a few times briefly has now been resolved, so it should be even better now.

broquea

Regarding backbones and IPv6 allocations:

HE.NET is the backbone provider in our case. We issue addresses from our /32, and do not use other networks for IPv6 transit or address space. We peer directly with other networks and also provide IPv6 transit. We operate every single tunnel-server and their upstream routers, etc. (again, we maintain our own international dual-stack backbone).

In comparison, I believe Sixxs uses several partner ISPs and organizations to donate bandwidth and hardware resources, along with address space assignments from those organizations (please correct me if I am mistaken). Not that anything is wrong about this, it is simply not how we operate our tunnelbroker service.

Regarding uptime: