• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

Beginner Help - Tunnel behind NAT

Started by starcastle, April 16, 2008, 07:26:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

starcastle

I am VERY new at this.

I am currently using an IPv6 service that uses a client to setup the tunnel to a server behind a NAT.

Can this be accomplished as well.  I am not knowledgable enough to figure it out.

I am using Linux (SUSe).

Thanks for any help!

Peter Woodall

broquea

Well assuming the NAT passes protocol 41 (ipv6), our examples should work. We do have a note on some of our configs that reads:

*NOTE* When behind a firewall appliance that passes protocol41, instead of using the IPv4 endpoint you provided to our broker, use the IPv4 address you get from your appliance's DHCP service.

[Edit] - Sorry, you were using Suse, I skipped that. You should use either the "Linux-net-tools" or "Linux-route2" examples. I've tested both behind a few NAT appliances and they work.

starcastle

I am using a SUSe Linux desktop with a Fixed IPv4 address.  The NAT can be configured to pass protocol 41.

Would I provide the 'external' IP address for the NAT as the IPv4 end point for the tunnel?

broquea

Quote from: starcastle on April 16, 2008, 09:18:01 AM
I am using a SUSe Linux desktop with a Fixed IPv4 address.  The NAT can be configured to pass protocol 41.

Would I provide the 'external' IP address for the NAT as the IPv4 end point for the tunnel?

Yes the broker needs your real routable IPv4 endpoint, and using the "Linux-route2" example will require the internal, non-routable IP your NAT appliance DHCPs to your machine. Using the "Linux-net-tools" example doesn't require that you specify that internal IPv4 address.

starcastle

Thanks for your help!

One last question.  I am assuming I have to provied a route from the 'outside' to my linux box for protocol 41 otherwise this wont work?  I'm not using dhcp in this case.