• Welcome to Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums.

Adding OS X ipv6 clients to LAN with Cisco 87x router

Started by derby, December 08, 2009, 11:51:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

derby

I have a Cisco 871W router set up with a tunnel to Hurricane Electric.  I can use IOS commands on the Cisco router to reach HE and verify the tunnel is working.

Now that I have a tunnel, I'd like to have an OS X client (Snow Leopard) access ipv6.google.com and other ipv6 servers.  I'm new to this and having trouble understanding how to set up the OS X client so it will work with the Cisco router to use the tunnel.  There don't seem to be examples of the setups needed to get OS X to work.

So if someone has been successful with this type of configuration - is the setup documented somewhere that I can read?

Some questions about areas that I'm trying to learn and understand:

-  Do I have to turn off ipv4 on the Mac if I'm using ipv6?
-  HE provided the following:

2001:470:7:444::2/64 as the Client IPv6 address for the tunnel endpoint
2001:470:e068::/48  for routed /48
2001:470:8:444::/64 for routed/64

In the Mac OS X Systems Preferences "network" panel, Configure IPv6 settings should I use "Automatically" or "Manually"?

Does the CISCO have to be enabled with "ipv6 unicast-routing" for OS X "Automatically" to work?

If OS X does not support DHCPv6 how does one handle DNS on OS X?

DO I add a DNS entry for ipv6?  Should I add both the available DNS Resolvers that NE provided?   to the OS X DNS servers?

How does "Protocol 41" fit into the picture.  Do I need to do anything to my Cisco 871 to support Protocol 41?  To OS X?