Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit  (Read 20461 times)

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« on: February 15, 2010, 06:43:39 AM »

Hello,

First of all I want to note that I read through all the threads about the same problem (http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=653.0), but I didn't find the solution to my problem.

I'm trying to set up a tunnel, which I've already requested. So I have the tunnel details, but the config commands for Vista/2008 don't seem to work. This is what I'm given:

Code: [Select]
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 193.190.253.144 216.66.84.46
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:762::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:762::1

The first time entering these commands (as Administrator of course) I received no error, but I couldn't reach ipv6.google.com. So I reseted the ipv6 ("netsh int ipv6 reset"), but when I now try to enter the commands again I get the following error: "You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. If joining a domain, go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try again. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name." for the first command and "The object already exists." for the second and third.

Here is my "ipconfig /all" and "netstar -nr" information:

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Simon-Laptop
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be

Wireless LAN adapter Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-3D-59-0B
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter LAN-verbinding:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-69-49-DB
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d8c5:3f48:6398:9c5f%11(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.8.18.242(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : maandag 15 februari 2010 15:07:44
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : maandag 15 februari 2010 17:07:44
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::8907:9e70:7a47:7500%11
                                       10.8.19.254
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 134.58.127.4
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234887992
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-09-B5-88-00-1B-38-69-49-DB

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 134.58.126.3
                                       134.58.127.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Windows\system32>netstat -nr
===========================================================================
Interface List
 13...00 1b 77 3d 59 0b ......Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
 11...00 1b 38 69 49 db ......Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
  1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
 12...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
 16...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      10.8.19.254      10.8.18.242     20
        10.8.18.0    255.255.254.0         On-link       10.8.18.242    276
      10.8.18.242  255.255.255.255         On-link       10.8.18.242    276
      10.8.19.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       10.8.18.242    276
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       10.8.18.242    276
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       10.8.18.242    276
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None

IPv6 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
 11    276 ::/0                     fe80::8907:9e70:7a47:7500
  1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
 11    276 fe80::/64                On-link
 11    276 fe80::d8c5:3f48:6398:9c5f/128
                                    On-link
  1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
 11    276 ff00::/8                 On-link
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:470:1f14:762::1
===========================================================================

Thanks in advance for your help!

Greetings,
Insano
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2686
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 07:28:39 AM »

Are you behind a NAT?
Logged

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 10:50:44 AM »

I think I am, but I'm not 100% sure. I'm on a university network where everybody shares the same IP to the outside world.

Is there a way to check this out for sure? And does this affect the way I should set up the tunnel?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2686
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2010, 10:55:44 AM »

Quote
I think I am, but I'm not 100% sure. I'm on a university network where everybody shares the same IP to the outside world.

Is there a way to check this out for sure?

My fault..I should have read the output you supplied a little closer.  Your IP address is a 10., meaning you are on a NAT.

This would explain why you were unable to get your tunnel to work.

You had posted a copy of the output of your system...was it before or after you ran "netsh int ipv6 reset" ?
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2010, 11:03:49 AM »

64-bit also requires that "interface=IP6Tunnel" bit to be used
Logged

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2010, 08:24:28 PM »

You had posted a copy of the output of your system...was it before or after you ran "netsh int ipv6 reset" ?
The given output was from after I ran the "netsh int ipv6 reset" command, and is the current state I'm in.
64-bit also requires that "interface=IP6Tunnel" bit to be used
Does this mean that the command

"netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 193.190.253.144 216.66.84.46"

should change into

"netsh interface=IP6Tunnel ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 193.190.253.144 216.66.84.46"?

This gives the error message "The following command was not found: (...)", so I assume that's not the part that I have to change.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2010, 08:29:59 PM »

It means:

netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel $ipv4b $ipv4a

Like in the example for Windows Vista/2008/7 in this forum thread
Logged

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2010, 03:40:09 AM »

I see. I still get the two errors I described in my first post though when I try to execute the commands.

Two questions remain:

  • Do I first have to remove all the commands I've entered before?
  • Do I have to alter the commands to match a different IP than the one the outside world sees?
Thanks for the help so far, by the way!
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1709
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2010, 04:43:13 AM »

There is some netsh ipv6 reset command, it's somewhere in all these Windows threads. I don't remember the command off hand.

You should be using the 10. address instead of the ipv4 endpoint, like the *NOTE* recommends when generating the example commands in the broker's webUI.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2686
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2010, 05:09:41 AM »

Just a reminder/FYI...  Are you sure that the firewall you're behind is passing protocol41 traffic?
Logged

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #10 on: February 16, 2010, 08:07:33 AM »

There is some netsh ipv6 reset command, it's somewhere in all these Windows threads. I don't remember the command off hand.

You should be using the 10. address instead of the ipv4 endpoint, like the *NOTE* recommends when generating the example commands in the broker's webUI.
Okay, so I subsituted the 10. address (10.8.18.242) for my previous ipv4 endpoint address (193.190.253.14).

I entered the following command:

netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel 10.8.18.242 216.66.84.46

But I get once again the same error: "You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. If joining a domain, go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try again. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name."
Just a reminder/FYI...  Are you sure that the firewall you're behind is passing protocol41 traffic?
I have no idea whether this is the case. As you by now must have noticed, I'm new to this and still trying to figure a lot of this out.

If I had to guess, I'd say that the firewall of my router isn't blocking protocol41 traffic, because I could set up a proper tunnel with Hexago on Windows Vista.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2686
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2010, 08:18:50 AM »

Quote

I think I am, but I'm not 100% sure. I'm on a university network where everybody shares the same IP to the outside world.

If I had to guess, I would say proto/41 is being blocked "just because"

Hexago/Go6/GoGo6 does not use Proto/41..IIRC they tunnel over TCP.

As for your error, take a look at reply number 14 from jimb
http://www.tunnelbroker.net/forums/index.php?topic=780.0

Logged

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2010, 08:50:24 AM »

That post of jimb helped me avoid the errors. I now have the connection set up, but its state is disconnected.

Here is the code of the command inputs and the interface state at the end.

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 show interface

Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50  4294967295  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
 13          50        1500  disconnected  Draadloze netwerkverbinding
 12          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be
 14          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.kotnet.org
 11          20        1500  connected     LAN-verbinding


C:\Windows\system32>netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel interface=IP6Tunnel 10.8
.18.242 216.66.84.46


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 show interface

Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50  4294967295  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
 13          50        1500  disconnected  Draadloze netwerkverbinding
 12          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be
 14          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.kotnet.org
 11          20        1500  connected     LAN-verbinding
 16          50        1280  disconnected  IP6Tunnel


C:\Windows\system32>netsh interface ipv6 add address interface=IP6Tunnel 2001:47
0:1f14:762::2


C:\Windows\system32>netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 interface=IP6Tunnel 2001
:470:1f14:762::1
Ok.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 show interface

Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50  4294967295  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
 13          50        1500  disconnected  Draadloze netwerkverbinding
 12          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.kotnet.kuleuven.ac.be
 14          50        1280  disconnected  isatap.kotnet.org
 11          20        1500  connected     LAN-verbinding
 16          50        1280  disconnected  IP6Tunnel
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2010, 09:11:42 AM »

Have you tried pinging something like ipv6.google.com?

Most firewalls/NAT devices won't allow proto-41 traffic in unless something inside generates outbound proto-41 traffic.  Therefore the status will be 'disconnected' until some traffic is generated.

What are you using for your network firewall/NAT?  If possible configure a protocol forward NAT entry on this device, forwarding any IP protocol 41 traffic arriving at the public IPv4 to your windows box's private IPv4.
Logged

Insano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Problem setting up tunnel with Windows 7 64-bit
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2010, 10:11:02 AM »

Have you tried pinging something like ipv6.google.com?
When I do this (ping ipv6.google.com) I get the following error:

"Ping request could not find host ipv6.google.com. Please check the name and try again."

What are you using for your network firewall/NAT?  If possible configure a protocol forward NAT entry on this device, forwarding any IP protocol 41 traffic arriving at the public IPv4 to your windows box's private IPv4.
On this machine, I have BitDefender Total Security 2010 as firewall. I have no access to any settings outside of my windows box, so I don't think I can set up such a forwarding of traffic.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2