Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: DHCPv6  (Read 4650 times)

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2726
DHCPv6
« on: March 11, 2010, 09:53:35 AM »

I came across this link a little while ago and wanted to post it for others to see

https://fedorahosted.org/dhcpv6/

It seems that DHCPv6 is now obsolete because IPv6 support is built into the new version of DHCP
Logged

chiel

  • Guest
Re: DHCPv6
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 10:36:28 AM »

Well, DHCPv6 is supported in the newer DHCP version from ISC.
As quoted from the website:

Quote
No new development will be happening on this project. dhcpv6 has been obsoleted by ISC dhcp version 4.1.0 and later.
Logged

kriteknetworks

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
    • aRDy Music
Re: DHCPv6
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 06:38:02 PM »

Doesn't this still require running two daemons, one for v4 and one for v6?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2726
Re: DHCPv6
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2010, 04:55:48 AM »

I don't know; there's not a whole lot of information in the article.

I would assume so though.
Logged

mikea

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DHCPv6
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2010, 12:30:32 PM »

I just compiled the stable version of ISC dhcp 4.1.1. It looks like the dhcpd daemon handles both v4 and v6 dhcp but needs to be given a command line switch: [-4|-6] for which version to use. Appears to default to v4 and didn't like the dhcpv6 config until the -6 option was given. So it looks like you would have to run separate instances of the dhcpd daemon for v4 and v6.
Logged

jimb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • ^^^ Warped picture
Re: DHCPv6
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2010, 01:51:34 PM »

I presume you'd have to point it to separate config files too for each version.

I should compile that up and play a bit.  I've been wanting to toy with prefix delegation for a while now.
Logged