Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 Basics & Questions & General Chatter => Topic started by: charleslacour on March 01, 2011, 08:15:30 PM

Title: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: charleslacour on March 01, 2011, 08:15:30 PM
When I do a traceroute6 it takes 11 hops to get across the tunnel.  Is this normal or am I having a routing issue?
Title: Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: kriteknetworks on March 01, 2011, 08:51:47 PM
You forgot to show the trace...please show, and please don't obfuscate it, thanks
Title: Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: charleslacour on March 01, 2011, 08:59:54 PM
I didn't thing that you would need the trace route to say if 11 hops is normal.

But here you go:
traceroute6 ipv6.l.google.com
traceroute6 to ipv6.l.google.com (2001:4860:8004::6a) from 2001:470:d:d69::1:118, 64 hops max, 12 byte packets
 1  vaio.home.thekeep.com  2.655 ms  3.840 ms  1.722 ms
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  *
    pw-in-x6a.1e100.net  64.428 ms  62.526 ms
Title: Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: snarked on March 01, 2011, 11:37:57 PM
What's the TTL on your tunnel interface?  This one got me in the past.
Title: Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: charleslacour on March 02, 2011, 08:11:51 AM
I did not have one explicitly set, I added "ttl 64" to the interface definition and it works!

Is there a value for ttl that you would recommend for the tunnel?
Title: Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: ratcheer on March 02, 2011, 08:18:43 AM
The commands given to me by the HE configuration script specify it at 255. But I have no idea whether that is good or bad.

Tim
Title: Re: Many traceroute6 hops across IPv6 Tunnel
Post by: snarked on March 02, 2011, 11:54:57 AM
Without a specific TTL, I bet it was set to "inherit" so it was counting how many IPv4 hops the packets was tunnelled through.