Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Routing Platforms => Topic started by: michaelm4936 on June 27, 2011, 07:09:08 AM

Title: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: michaelm4936 on June 27, 2011, 07:09:08 AM
FYI,
Just installed the latest IOS upgrade for my Cisco/Linksys E4200. Cisco has release the native IPv6 functionality for the router. Wanted to share info incase someone was looking how to setup without using an opensource firmware. Included pictures incase anyone wants a view.

Settings that I used that worked.
IPv6 Automatic= Disable
6rd Tunnel= Manual
Prefix = Client IPv6 Address (Example: 2001:470:c:fff::2)
Prefix Length= 64
Border Relay=  Server IPv4 Address (example LA 66.220.18.42)
IPv4 Address Mask= 32
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: jimb on June 28, 2011, 05:25:16 PM
Hrm.  I should check to see if my WRT-610 N has IPv6 stuff now.  Although it'd be a bit moot for me since I only use it as a L2 access point.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: wraithbone on November 03, 2011, 11:17:09 AM
i tested the settings on my E4200. - worked!

Though i used the Routed IPv6 Prefixes. NOT the Client IPv6 Address.

Thanks for this info though!
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: nbarsotti on April 10, 2012, 11:02:33 AM
Just to be explicit, Did you got your e4200 to work with the Hurricane Electric tunnel service, or is that another service?  Which hardware version e4200 do you have, v1 or v2?
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: cconn on April 11, 2012, 08:48:54 AM
wait a second....

this works?  HE is giving free 6RD service?!  I don't see how this works since they are assigning space out of 2001:470::/32 for their tunnelbrokering service, and an entire /32 is required to cover IPv4 address space.

I am going to try this  ???
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: cconn on April 11, 2012, 08:53:35 AM
not working.  :-\
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: Halberdier on July 02, 2012, 02:54:27 AM
It worked all the same on my E900; I guess the firmware for the entire LinkSys E-series is the same, or very similar at least.

After entering the parameters as indicated by michaelm4936, you have to go under the "Status" page, and click "connect" aside of the IPv6 connection information: after a while it should state "connected", otherwise "undetermined" if it fails.

My provider assigns the public IPv4 address dynamically and I had the impression that setting up the tunnel on the router causes it to be updated, thus I had to follow the instructions for dynamic IPv4 as described in the FAQ. I used the second option listed here: http://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_end.php (http://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_end.php).
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: timbaldwin on July 20, 2012, 09:55:16 AM
this works?  HE is giving free 6RD service?!  I don't see how this works since they are assigning space out of 2001:470::/32 for their tunnelbrokering service, and an entire /32 is required to cover IPv4 address space.

IPv4MaskLen=32 means there is only one IPv4 address in the 6rd domain; 6rd with IPv4MaskLen=32 is 6in4.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: cconn on July 20, 2012, 02:24:39 PM
this works?  HE is giving free 6RD service?!  I don't see how this works since they are assigning space out of 2001:470::/32 for their tunnelbrokering service, and an entire /32 is required to cover IPv4 address space.

IPv4MaskLen=32 means there is only one IPv4 address in the 6rd domain; 6rd with IPv4MaskLen=32 is 6in4.

I know what it is.  But what I am saying is that to do 6RD, you need to dedicate a /32 in order to do so.  They are offerring tunnelbroker services in 2001:470::/32, therefore they cannot be also using that prefix for 6RD.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: vanhelsing1616 on October 09, 2012, 05:48:03 PM
nevermind i got it to work!!!!
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: eagle8762 on November 12, 2012, 08:40:02 PM
 :)

Confirmed working on a Linksys N300/Cisco E-1200.

BTW, the screen shots in the OP are identical to my firmware.  That said I would believe that the firmwares across the entire E series are the same based on other posts.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: nickbeee on January 04, 2013, 05:05:27 PM
I have just configured a E2500 successfully after updating it to firmware version 1.0.07. Not very intuitive to set up so thanks to you guys for sharing this.

As suggested above, I've used and address from the routed /64 for the prefix and the ipv4 address of the POP in the border relay setting. I also unchecked filter anonymous internet requests to respond to ICMPv4 echo on the WAN side (required to confirm the IPv4 of your tunnel endpoint). The IPv6 firewall configuration is a bit sparse though, I need to figure out how to allow it to pass ICMP6.








Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: UpMaSh on April 16, 2013, 06:56:08 PM
Anyone using Cogeco and a E4200v2 router have been able to get the tunnel to work. My router just keeps getting undetermined,



Connection Type:     6rd Tunnel   
    
6rd Tunnel:    Undetermined


Is it a problem on cogeco or is my router just messed?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have configured it as suggested above with the server IP as the Border relay with netmask 32 and the Routed IPv6 Prefix given by HE with prefix length of 64. Did I miss something?
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: shak85 on October 08, 2014, 02:49:51 AM
Sorry to bump this old thread but i'm thinking of getting a Linksys E900 which has ipv6 support .

Does the above guide still work with HE Tunnel Broker? Does it automatically assign ipv6 address on each connected device ?


Thanks for your help!
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: nickbeee on October 08, 2014, 06:50:51 AM
Sorry to bump this old thread but i'm thinking of getting a Linksys E900 which has ipv6 support .

Does the above guide still work with HE Tunnel Broker? Does it automatically assign ipv6 address on each connected device ?

The E2500 I configured as above is still working with HE. You'd have to check the configuration options on the Linksys are still the same.

HTH,
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: shak85 on October 16, 2014, 12:35:41 AM
Thanks a lot , i might just go with the 2500 , is currently on sale on amazon and has usb port which will be very handy
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: matthewkoster on December 15, 2014, 09:38:42 PM
Sorry to bump this old thread again, but I cannot seem to ping my internal IPv6 addresses...

I have it set up as the OP suggested, using the Client IPv6 and server IPv4.  I can ping IPv6 addresses from my private network and can ping the server IPv6 from outside, however I cannot ping the Client IPv6 address from anywhere and cannot ping my IPv6 address from the net.  I am trying to do the IPv6 certification from home using VMWare, but won't beablet o copmplete the webserver part if I cannot ping my internal IPv6 addresses.  any ideas?

BTW, I am using a Linksys E2500 and it works connects fine (according tot he status).  I also tried wraithbone's option of using the routed/64 address, but still no go on the pings.

On a side note, for anyone who completed the IPv6 certification using hteir own internal network, how did you mad a FQDN to it?  I would like to use some sort of a dyndns service if possible.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: nickbeee on December 16, 2014, 01:14:46 AM
I have it set up as the OP suggested, using the Client IPv6 and server IPv4.  I can ping IPv6 addresses from my private network and can ping the server IPv6 from outside, however I cannot ping the Client IPv6 address from anywhere and cannot ping my IPv6 address from the net.  I am trying to do the IPv6 certification from home using VMWare, but won't beablet o copmplete the webserver part if I cannot ping my internal IPv6 addresses.  any ideas?
Check the settings for the IPv6 SPI Firewall (http://kb.linksys.com/Linksys/ukp.aspx?pid=80&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1&docid=978eca6b436a4edc92576ba183b91f5c_KB_EN_v1.xml). It's enabled by default and it will be blocking traffic to hosts on your network.


Quote
On a side note, for anyone who completed the IPv6 certification using hteir own internal network, how did you mad a FQDN to it?  I would like to use some sort of a dyndns service if possible.
I registered a domain with namecheap and pointed the nameservers at Hurricane's DNS service. This allowed me to configure a host for the SMTP and Web servers.

HTH.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: matthewkoster on December 16, 2014, 09:36:09 AM
That did the trick, thank you.
Title: Re: Cisco/Linksys E4200 Native firmware - IPv6 - 6rd
Post by: PatrickDickey on April 04, 2015, 05:20:58 AM
Sorry to bump an old thread, but I have a couple of questions. I just bought an EA2700, and it has the IPv6 capabilities in it. So my questions are, what settings do I need for a dynamic IPv4 address? And will this automatically update whenever my IPv4 address changes, or do I need to manually do it?

I'm hoping it eliminates the python script that I have updating my address currently.

Thanks, and have a great day.:)
Patrick.