Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Tunnelbroker.net Specific Topics => Questions & Answers => Topic started by: AndrewButterworth on March 24, 2012, 03:36:27 PM

Title: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: AndrewButterworth on March 24, 2012, 03:36:27 PM
From the Hurricane Electric Free DNS Management I have activated my /64 DNS Zone but can't activate my /48.  The help says click on it and it will automatically activate it?  Is there something I am missing?

Andy
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: cholzhauer on March 24, 2012, 09:13:04 PM
Yeah it should just work

If not email ipv6@he.net
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: AndrewButterworth on March 25, 2012, 09:11:15 PM
OK, emailed them and its now gone green...

I have added a host (AAAA record) but it doesn't resolve?  I am at the Enthusiast level and when I put the hostname in it says no AAAA record found.  Do I need to activate it somehow?

Andy
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: kasperd on March 26, 2012, 12:04:46 AM
I have added a host (AAAA record) but it doesn't resolve?
If you want help with that, you need to tell us what the domain name is. Otherwise we cannot see what is wrong with it.
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: AndrewButterworth on March 26, 2012, 06:55:21 AM
www.rutland-ccie.com
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: cholzhauer on March 26, 2012, 07:02:43 AM
I'm not seeing an AAAA record assigned to it

Code: [Select]
[carl@mars ~]$ host rutland-ccie.com
Host rutland-ccie.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

You didn't try and assign an address from your tunnel /64 to it did you?
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: AndrewButterworth on March 26, 2012, 07:47:22 AM
No, its from my /48 that I have subnetted down further.

2001:470:c964::/48

AAAA record:
Name = www.rutland-ccie.com
Address = 2001:470:c964:64fe:c1c0:d3b7:17af:a537
TTL = 1-hour

Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: broquea on March 26, 2012, 08:20:26 AM
Is rutland-ccie.com even registered?
Code: [Select]
:~$ whois rutland-ccie.com

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

No match for "RUTLAND-CCIE.COM".
>>> Last update of whois database: Mon, 26 Mar 2012 15:19:02 UTC <<<
I mean, I'd hope a "CCIE" would know how to register a domain ;)
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: AndrewButterworth on March 26, 2012, 08:30:43 AM
Bizarrely I have been a CCIE for 10-years and I have never registered a domain...

I thought this was part of the Free DNS service HE offered?
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: broquea on March 26, 2012, 08:36:08 AM
Registering a domain costs money.
Title: Re: /48 Zone remains as Incomplete?
Post by: AndrewButterworth on March 27, 2012, 09:20:08 AM
Registering a domain costs money.

It does.  Now I have one and onto the next certification tests....   :)

Andy