Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Linux & BSD & Mac => Topic started by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 04:19:49 PM

Title: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 04:19:49 PM
I am able to ping my gateway but when i try to ping a site like he.net i get the following error

[root@cosmo ~]# ping6 he.net
connect: Network is unreachable
[root@cosmo ~]#

Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 29, 2008, 04:50:53 PM
Try changing the default route from using ::/0 to 2000::/3
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 04:52:51 PM
How would i do that sir?
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 29, 2008, 04:56:35 PM
How would i do that sir?

Assuming you are using Linux, it depends on which commands you used to bring up the tunnel, you'd change "::/0" to "2000::/3"

so
Code: [Select]
route -A inet6 add ::/0 dev sit1becomes
Code: [Select]
route -A inet6 add 2000::/3 dev sit1
or
Code: [Select]
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6becomes
Code: [Select]
ip route add 2000::/3 dev he-ipv6
remember to delete the default route first before changing it.
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 05:03:36 PM
what does he-ipv6 represent and i used this code for my route. if it helps so you know what i have to do and i am using linux.

Sorry if you think im stupid im just new :P

I used the linux-net-tool config on site and this is the lasst line in it
route -A inet6 add ::/0 dev sit1

How would i change that to whats the root delete command and add for new one.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 29, 2008, 05:10:20 PM
what does he-ipv6 represent and i used this code for my route. if it helps so you know what i have to do and i am using linux.

Sorry if you think im stupid im just new :P

I used the linux-net-tool config on site and this is the lasst line in it
route -A inet6 add ::/0 dev sit1

How would i change that to whats the root delete command and add for new one.

Thanks!

use
Code: [Select]
route -A inet6 del ::/0 dev sit1
route -A inet6 add 2000::/3 dev sit1
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 05:15:23 PM
Works! Thank you very much sir!

One more question. Now how would i go about adding ipv6 ips that i can use?
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 05:16:10 PM
My details are:

Routed /48: 2001:470:b8c7::/48 
Routed /64: 2001:470:1f0f:302::/64

Can you give me a example on centos how i would add a ipv6 ip

Thanks sir!
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 29, 2008, 05:21:29 PM
well with ifconfig
Code: [Select]
ifconfig eth0 inet6 2001:470:1f0f:302::1/64
ifconfig eth0 inet6 2001:470:1f0f:302::2/64

etc....

Also you'll have to edit any interface configuration files/scripts so that the machine automatically brings up interfaces with the IPv6 addresses, as well as the tunnel interface, when/if it reboots.

Lots of documentation on that for the various Linux distros via Google search.
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 05:40:57 PM
For example on centos would this work

ip addr add 2001:470:b8c7::17 dev eth0
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 29, 2008, 05:48:29 PM
For example on centos would this work

ip addr add 2001:470:b8c7::17 dev eth0

ip addr add 2001:470:b8c7::17/64  dev eth0 (which assumes you are using the 2001:470:b8c7:0::/64 block out of your /48)
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: DeSync on October 29, 2008, 06:53:53 PM
Ok now im trying to get my ipv6 ip DNS to where i can use it for irc.

I went to freedns.afraid.org and it asked for my ipv6 subnet i put 2001:0470:1f0f:302::/64

Now i am adding a record and it says 2001:0470:1f0f:302:blank hostname

Did i do something wrong and everytime i enter a record it says invalid i want to be able to reverse dns 2001:0470:1f0f:302::13 what would be the subnet and the record for me to be able to reverse dns 2001:0470:1f0f:302::13
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 30, 2008, 09:48:43 AM
I'm not really familiar with their service, so hopefully someone on the forums can point you in the right direction for using them.
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: broquea on October 31, 2008, 08:03:11 PM
Ok so I made an account out of boredom, and the problem is easy.

They want the 3 sets of zeroes before your 13, so in their form, put: 0:0:0:13 (or 0000:0000:0000:0013)
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: hvdkooij on November 04, 2008, 10:56:40 PM
My details are:

Routed /48: 2001:470:b8c7::/48 
Routed /64: 2001:470:1f0f:302::/64

Can you give me a example on centos how i would add a ipv6 ip

I am currently working on a dutch version to show how to configure it the native centos/fedora/redhat way and will then also publish an english version once I am done.

http://hugo.vanderkooij.org/network/ipv6.htm (http://hugo.vanderkooij.org/network/ipv6.htm)

Hugo.
Title: Re: Ipv6 configration error
Post by: kriteknetworks on November 05, 2008, 09:28:43 AM
This is good...I'll write and release a Slackware specific rc.inet6 as well...