Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Windows => Topic started by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 04:19:43 AM

Title: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 04:19:43 AM
Hello

I'm using windows 8 and i've been trying to make a tunnelbroker tunnel work for a long time .

I copied and pasted the commands

Code: [Select]
netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 78.158.128.159 216.66.84.46
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:27c::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:27c::1

I didn't get any error but i can't access any ipv6 site .

Here is my ipconfig and route print

Code: [Select]
C:\Windows\system32>route print
===========================================================================
Interface List
 34...02 50 f2 00 00 01 ......gogo6 Virtual Multi-Tunnel Adapter
 15...00 ff fa b8 b0 10 ......TAP-Win32 Adapter V9
 14...5e 0f 6e 6b 7d 8b ......Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
 13...1c 75 08 07 f2 d9 ......Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
 12...4c 0f 6e 6b 7d 8b ......Qualcomm Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network Adapter
  1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
 35...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapter
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.1.1      192.168.1.3     25
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        127.0.0.1  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  127.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
      192.168.1.0  255.255.255.248         On-link       192.168.1.3    281
      192.168.1.3  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.3    281
      192.168.1.7  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.3    281
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0         On-link       192.168.1.3    281
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link         127.0.0.1    306
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255         On-link       192.168.1.3    281
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None

IPv6 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  1    306 ::1/128                  On-link
 12    281 fe80::/64                On-link
 12    281 fe80::d9a5:1620:8a5:b7c7/128
                                    On-link
  1    306 ff00::/8                 On-link
 12    281 ff00::/8                 On-link
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
 If Metric Network Destination      Gateway
  0 4294967295 2001:1418:100:4ff::/64   On-link
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:1418:100:4ff::1
  0 4294967295 ::/0                     2001:470:1f14:27c::1
===========================================================================



Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Andreas>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Andreas
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : gogo6 Virtual Multi-Tunnel Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-50-F2-00-00-01
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter aiccu:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Win32 Adapter V9
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-FA-B8-B0-10
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 5E-0F-6E-6B-7D-8B
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-75-08-07-F2-D9
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network
Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-0F-6E-6B-7D-8B
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d9a5:1620:8a5:b7c7%12(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.248
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, November 20, 2012 12:36:40 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 1:00:26 PM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 256642926
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-36-66-01-4C-0F-6E-6B-7D-8B

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 217.27.32.196
                                       217.27.50.125
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



As you can see i also have gogo installed , but not working at the moment . I have tried again without gogo being installed to check if it interferes , but it still doesn't work !

Can anyone help please


Kind regards

shak
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: broquea on November 20, 2012, 04:40:18 AM
on the second line of the commands you ran, change 78.158.128.159 to 192.168.1.3
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 05:03:39 AM
Thanks for the response

Now i get the message

C:\Windows\system32>netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 192.168.1.3 21
6.66.84.46
You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. If joinin
g a domain, go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try ag
ain. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name.
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 05:20:20 AM
So i have tried to fix it

netsh interface ipv6 show interface

netsh interface ipv6 delete interface=x

Tunnel was deleted  and then i tried your suggestion to replace the ip , still nothing . I don't get any error but nothing happens , not a single attempt to connect .
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 20, 2012, 05:30:08 AM
does your NAT device pass protocol41?
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 05:36:39 AM
How do i check that ?

i have linksys wireless router , i know how to access router settings but where to check for that ?
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 20, 2012, 05:42:18 AM
You use something like wireshark to look at packets.  You can also put your host in the DMZ, but that doesn't always work
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 05:57:12 AM
Maybe i should try the DMZ option , but shouldn't i get an error if that protocol wasn't supported .

I mean it works ok with gogo6 and sixxs .

But i want to try tunnelbroker , what ip should i use at the DMZ ?
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 20, 2012, 06:28:15 AM
Nope, no errors.

You need to put the IPv4 address of your computer in the DMZ of the router
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 06:42:18 AM
In my case is 78.158.128.159 or 192.168.1.3 ?

Sorry for the noobish questions , i'm not that network savvy  ::)

Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 20, 2012, 07:01:06 AM
The 192.168.1.3
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 04:14:02 PM
Thanks for the response but still no luck

I enabled DMZ , tried the following commands again

Code: [Select]

netsh interface teredo set state disabled
netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 192.168.1.3 216.66.84.46
netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:27c::2
netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f14:27c::1


Everything goes ok  no error messages 

And then my connections becomes limited , and i can't browse any sites at all . When i run netsh interface ipv6 show interface , it says connected next to IP6Tunnel  but i can't access any site
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 20, 2012, 04:17:48 PM
Then your router is probably not passing proto41. 

What model of router do you have?
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 20, 2012, 04:46:01 PM
Btw after unplugging and plugin again my router , it seems to work  i mean i can access the web but again no ipv6 connectivity .

So DMZ is enabled but still no connectivity . Shouldn't there be a sign that it connects with the batch ? I mean with gogo6 and sixxs , when i click the connection icon on my taskbar i could see a new network , and windows was trying to identify it , but with the batch nothing happens .

My model is

LINKSYS WRTS54GS V7
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 21, 2012, 01:35:46 PM
Did you breakout wireshark and see if your router is passing protocol41?  Without that info, we can't do much more to help you.

If you don't want to use wireshark, you'll have to get a modem that for sure supports IPv6
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 21, 2012, 04:28:18 PM
Can you please explain me how to use wireshark in order to find out if my router blocks protocol 41?
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 22, 2012, 12:05:08 PM
How can i unblock protocol 41 ??
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 22, 2012, 12:37:41 PM
You can ask google how to use wireshark

You're probably not going to be able to explicitly allow protocol 41...buy a new router
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 23, 2012, 05:39:33 AM
So basically tunnelbroker is for routers that support ipv6 , and is used when isp don't support it .

And sixxs and gogo6 are kinda different , since i can get ipv6 connectivity with them . Not trying to compare or anything i just thought they offered the same services .

Any suggestion of cheap ipv6 modems?
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 23, 2012, 12:43:45 PM
Well, the only reason you'd be doing any sort of tunneling is if your ISP doesn't support it.

You can host a tunnel on this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127241
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 26, 2012, 06:54:45 AM
Thanks for  the response , i was thinking about this one

http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DIR-601-Wireless-N-Home-Router/dp/B002VJL0OS/ref=zg_bs_300189_11


and this one

http://www.amazon.com/Cisco-E1200-Linksys-Wireless-N-Router/dp/B004T9RR6I/ref=zg_bs_300189_1

Will i be able to host a tunnel with these two ? The DIR-601 is very cheap whereas the Linksys is most popular router over at amazon . Any suggestions are welcome to decide .

 I need to change my current router not only because of no ipv6 support but because of the poor wireless coverage . I cant get wireless cover outside of my living room

Thanks again
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 26, 2012, 06:55:58 AM
I have not used them.

I recommend the one I posted a link to
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: broquea on November 26, 2012, 09:44:24 AM
If you get something like the 615 or 825, you can terminate the tunnel on the appliance. I've no experience with the 601. However since 2007, I haven't encountered one of their wired or wireless or combo NAT appliances that filtered Protocol 41 to hosts sitting behind them.
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 26, 2012, 10:00:17 AM
I have not used them.

I recommend the one I posted a link to

I think i will buy the one you suggested from newegg http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127241

I hope this one is the correct hardware revision , because some revisions don't support ipv6 . I hope dd-wrt is easy to use with this router
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: cholzhauer on November 26, 2012, 10:01:34 AM
Why DD-WRT?  If your sole purpose for running DD-WRT is for IPv6 support, you don't need it with this router
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 26, 2012, 10:07:05 AM
Yes you are right , i also searched if DD-WRT will help my current router to use ipv6 , but it is difficult and probably won't work .

Anyway i will search an alternative place than newegg because they only ship to U.S , i wish they stated the hardware revision in the details of the product , but in most sites like amazon , or ebay they don't state it . From their site d-link , only these products support ipv6 out of the box if someone is interested

http://resource.dlink.com/connect/d-link-ready-big-switch-ipv6/
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: broquea on November 26, 2012, 10:11:52 AM
try Amazon
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 26, 2012, 01:25:22 PM
Yes amazon has E1 revision i think this is the correct one with the ipv6 support
Title: Re: Can't get it to work
Post by: shak85 on November 30, 2012, 01:19:58 PM
I decide to try DD-WRT with Linksys wrt54gs , but still no luck . I still can't get ipv6 connectivity