Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Linux & BSD & Mac => Topic started by: kcochran on February 08, 2013, 07:11:43 AM

Title: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: kcochran on February 08, 2013, 07:11:43 AM
Looks like the existing configuration settings will not work with the 7.6.3 firmware.  If you have a working tunnel configured using an earlier firmware, it will likely not work with the new firmware.  Unless you need something in the 7.6.3 firmware, you may want to hold off until what they changed or expect has been determined.  If you have upgraded, you can use Airport Utility to revert to a previous firmware.  Instructions are available at http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1218
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: cjkreklow on February 08, 2013, 01:45:05 PM
Just got bit by this!  Guess that's what I get for upgrading without looking at the forums first.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: cpg on February 08, 2013, 03:55:52 PM
In the 7.6.1 firmware, there was a new field introduced in the tunnel setup - delegated prefix.

Did you ever put a value into that field?  I used the 'Routed 64' value.

When I upgraded to 7.6.3 my Hurricane tunnel still works but the default tunnel shows a 6to4 address that has nothing to do with my HE tunnel information.

Yet, all my computers get IPv6 addresses that are part of my /64 from Hurricane and I can ping my router's he ipv6 address.

So my tunnel works but the values displayed in the Airport utility are wacky.

Does this help anyone?
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: ddulay on February 09, 2013, 01:27:05 PM
I had to update my airport settings. My previous settings had been created using the older Airport Utility (5.6). I created the new settings using the 6.2 airport utility: Ineternet > Internet Options... Previously I had IPv6 Delegated Prefix blank and my Routed /64 as the IPv6 LAN Address. I had to change this so the IPV6 Delegated Prefix is the Routed /64, and the IPv6 LAN Address is the ::1 in the Routed /64. For example, my IPv6 Delegated Prefix is "2001:DB8::/64" and my IPV6 LAN Address is "2001:DB8::1".

The screenshot in the tunnelbroker.net example configurations will need to be updated.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: cpg on February 10, 2013, 09:30:54 PM
@ddulay - this is what I had in the Airport IPv6 settings since 7.6.1.  Using Airport Utility 6.2 and firmware 7.6.1 the IPv6 WAN address shows my HE IPv6 WAN address.  The same settings on the Extreme using firmware 7.6.3 show an IPv6 WAN Address of some random 6to4 address.

Something is wrong with 7.6.3 and IPv6 in general or just the tunneling.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: kcochran on February 11, 2013, 03:00:46 PM
I had to update my airport settings. My previous settings had been created using the older Airport Utility (5.6). I created the new settings using the 6.2 airport utility: Ineternet > Internet Options... Previously I had IPv6 Delegated Prefix blank and my Routed /64 as the IPv6 LAN Address. I had to change this so the IPV6 Delegated Prefix is the Routed /64, and the IPv6 LAN Address is the ::1 in the Routed /64. For example, my IPv6 Delegated Prefix is "2001:DB8::/64" and my IPV6 LAN Address is "2001:DB8::1".

The screenshot in the tunnelbroker.net example configurations will need to be updated.

I just tried that here, and no v6 worked after those settings either on AU6.2.  I wonder if there's something either funky with their firmware, or if it's behaving differently depending on the specific model, which shouldn't really make a difference.  Mine's a 3rd Gen.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: Warthog on February 13, 2013, 09:23:50 AM
Saw this issue got picked up on Ars Technica this morning.

http://arstechnica.com/apple/2013/02/airport-extreme-update-breaks-ipv6-tunnels-but-heres-how-to-fix-it/#p3n

The article pretty much recaps what has been discussed / tried here, however for me it's working now if I put the routed /64 in the IPv6 Delegated Prefix field, and then the same thing in the IPv6 LAN Address with 1 on the end instead of the /64.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: superpixel on February 13, 2013, 12:47:08 PM
The tunnel works for me with the new firmware and these settings:
(http://f.cl.ly/items/2y2W1s2s021L3L360z18/AirPort-HE-settings.jpg)
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: ddulay on February 13, 2013, 01:47:02 PM
@cpg
Yes, your suggestion helped. Thanks. I had not looked at the IPv6 WAN Address, and it shows the 6to4 address matching my IPv4 address. I can't ping that address, so I doubt it is in use.

I have a 4th generation AEBS.

@superpixel
Yes, these are the working settings I have, too.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: kcochran on February 24, 2013, 09:24:45 AM
To continue the weirdness, I tried updating a 4th gen AEBS with native, non-tunnel, IPv6.  After going to 7.6.3, no IPv6 love on the internal network.

So either there's something funky with the update, or some setting hiding is causing issues, or I just have the absolute worst luck in the world.  At least with the 4th gen, the delegated prefix doesn't zero out.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: CUTLER719NET on February 25, 2013, 08:17:00 PM
I found the upgrade from 7.6.2 to 7.6.3 on a fifth generation Airport Extreme to be transparent for native IPv6 routing.   8)

I did have to re-enter tunnel settings per the Ars Technica article http://arstechnica.com/apple/2013/02/airport-extreme-update-breaks-ipv6-tunnels-but-heres-how-to-fix-it/ to make a tunnel work.  :P

Of course, the IPv6 experience gained with HE TunnelBroker over the past year or so made it easier to understand what was happening. 

Thank you very much, Hurricane Electric!  ;D
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: skippingrock on March 25, 2013, 07:15:39 AM
To continue the weirdness, I tried updating a 4th gen AEBS with native, non-tunnel, IPv6.  After going to 7.6.3, no IPv6 love on the internal network.

So either there's something funky with the update, or some setting hiding is causing issues, or I just have the absolute worst luck in the world.  At least with the 4th gen, the delegated prefix doesn't zero out.

Has this been figured out yet what exactly has to be done? I've downgraded back to 7.6.1 on my TC Gen 1 for now.
- Cheers and thanks.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: kcochran on March 25, 2013, 10:14:08 AM
There are several threads on the Apple support forums about this topic, and there's been no reply back from them to any of the users seeing this issue.  Everyone there has had success just going back to 7.6.1.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: brontide on March 31, 2013, 10:28:24 AM
I had been keeping around my old gig AirPort Extreme ( pre simultaneous dual band ) for the sleep proxy, but I finally unplugged it yesterday.  It was causing no end to grief on the internal network and bonjour, several of my hosts kept cycling up their names ... host bacame host-1, -2, -3 and the problem was it was breaking my shairport services.  It was also trashing the address space by making 169.225 for many hosts that were happy ipv6 internally.  This is not the same issue, but native ipv6 breakage set to native or link-local only on 7.6.1 or 7.6.3 it was causing grief.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: alankuranov on November 27, 2013, 01:06:30 AM
Does anyone able to set up Airport Extreme with firmware 7.7.2 for IPv6?
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: kcochran on November 27, 2013, 08:50:58 AM
Presuming nothing was broken in the IPv6 code from 7.6 to 7.7, the current example configurations should still work.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: KennKong on November 30, 2013, 05:03:10 PM
Does anyone able to set up Airport Extreme with firmware 7.7.2 for IPv6?
I don't see the delegated prefix line in my 7.7.2 setup screen (see attached).
This setup isn't working for me.
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: kasperd on December 01, 2013, 02:16:23 PM
I don't see the delegated prefix line in my 7.7.2 setup screen (see attached).
This setup isn't working for me.
Does it help if you replace ffff with f18 in all the v6 addresses?
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: KennKong on December 02, 2013, 10:55:46 AM
Does it help if you replace ffff with f18 in all the v6 addresses?
I am using f18 in the appropriate places.  I was clumsily concealing my public address space.

From reading other posts, I have seen that using DHCP to get my public v4 address (I am) may cause the tunnel not to work.  Is this the problem, and if so, are there any work arounds?  I've never tried this before, but I could set my WAN connection to static with the same information as I get from the DHCP and see if that works (but what happens when my lease expires?)  Perhaps I could get the tunnel working, then switch back to DHCP?
Title: Re: Time Capsule / Airport 7.6.3 firmware update
Post by: KennKong on December 05, 2013, 07:13:37 PM
I got mine straightened out.  The problem was the version of the Airport Utility I was using.  The latest Windows version was 5.6.1, which won't work with the Extreme ac model.  I had to take my dead Macbook to the shop for resurrection, and had to upgrade the OS to Mavericks (I skipped over Mountain Lion and Hello, Kitty) before I could install Airport Utility v6.3.2.

Now the delegated prefix line shows up, and configuring it the way everyone else does had it working immediately.

Now I wish I had that old PC I tossed out last month.  It would have been much, much cheaper to stick another NIC in it and set it up as a router.