Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 Basics & Questions & General Chatter => Topic started by: BravaNet on October 26, 2013, 11:50:44 AM

Title: Understanding Tunnel Remote Endpoint Setting
Post by: BravaNet on October 26, 2013, 11:50:44 AM
I successfully setup IPv6 using TunnelBroker on my RT-N66U running the latest version of Shibby’s Tomato.

I am trying to understand all the settings and would appreciate a little help. I am not sure what the setting Tunnel Remote Endpoint (IPv4 Address) is. Is this the current IPv4 address of the router and what happens when this changes? Can I use a domain name instead of the ip address?

Thanks for any advice and clarification.
Title: Re: Understanding Tunnel Remote Endpoint Setting
Post by: snarked on October 26, 2013, 05:36:36 PM
It is the PUBLIC IPv4 address of your router.  A domain name cannot be used.  If you're subject to dynamic IPv4 allocation, there is a script to use whenever it changes:  https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/nic/update?hostname=____  (fill the blanks in with the HE tunnel number).
Title: Re: Understanding Tunnel Remote Endpoint Setting
Post by: BravaNet on October 26, 2013, 08:29:39 PM
It is the PUBLIC IPv4 address of your router.  A domain name cannot be used.  If you're subject to dynamic IPv4 allocation, there is a script to use whenever it changes:  https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/nic/update?hostname=____  (fill the blanks in with the HE tunnel number).

So I would put the domain name after the = ?
Title: Re: Understanding Tunnel Remote Endpoint Setting
Post by: snarked on October 27, 2013, 12:22:04 PM
I told you to put the TUNNEL ID NUMBER.  It's the first item on your "detailed tunnel" display:  "Tunnel ID:"
Title: Re: Understanding Tunnel Remote Endpoint Setting
Post by: BravaNet on October 27, 2013, 02:31:39 PM
I told you to put the TUNNEL ID NUMBER.  It's the first item on your "detailed tunnel" display:  "Tunnel ID:"
Got it now, thanks for the help.