Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Linux & BSD & Mac => Topic started by: aziaja on January 21, 2009, 05:13:10 AM

Title: IPv6, Debian, Dynamic IP
Post by: aziaja on January 21, 2009, 05:13:10 AM
...
Title: Re: IPv6, Debian, Dynamic IP
Post by: piojan on January 21, 2009, 05:29:54 AM
Hi,

Is the router forwarding protocol 41 packets to your server (192.168.1.99).

Why don't you first try to manualy set the ip on the tunnelbroker configuration page.
Remember that it needs to be the public ip (ipv4) which you tunnel end point is reachable.

Pozdrawiam / Cheers,
PJ
Title: Re: IPv6, Debian, Dynamic IP
Post by: piojan on January 21, 2009, 05:45:39 AM
Looks like it's working.

By the way - if you are form a country in Europe (like Poland) you could concider using the closest tunnel broker server - frankfurt or amsterdam. That way you will have a much smaller latancs
insted of "64 bytes from 2001:4c40:1::6667: icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=224 ms" u might get <50 ms
Title: Re: IPv6, Debian, Dynamic IP
Post by: broquea on January 21, 2009, 12:06:00 PM
You should be putting those IPv6 addresses on eth0 (or whatever NIC faces your LAN), especially if this machine will act as an RADVD server for the rest of your LAN.
Title: Re: IPv6, Debian, Dynamic IP
Post by: piojan on January 22, 2009, 11:03:23 AM
ppl say that USA is more stable :P

BTW: is possible to have 2 tunels on 1 system? for example i will make new interface he-ipv6-2 and tunel to frankfurt?

I would disagree with the statemant that usa tserver are more stable. The fra has more then 2000 tunnels. The only issue that I have noticed is the reloading of the tserver - vary rare (once a few weeks) but happens.

It's possible to have more then one tunnel. Howevere isn't so simple as you expect. A routed /64 is assigned to the tunnel. So you wan't be able to push it throught the secend tunnel.
Title: Re: IPv6, Debian, Dynamic IP
Post by: broquea on January 22, 2009, 12:05:33 PM
work with

Quote
ip a a 2001:470:1f07:cff::1 dev he-ipv6
ip a a 2001:470:1f07:cff::2 dev he-ipv6
ip a a 2001:470:1f07:cff::3 dev he-ipv6
ip a a 2001:470:1f07:cff::4 dev he-ipv6
ip a a 2001:470:1f07:cff::5 dev he-ipv6
:)

Yes it "works" but without putting an address on your LAN facing NIC, you'll have a tougher time trying to provide IPv6 via something like RADVD to other hosts on your LAN.