Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Windows => Topic started by: udha on January 31, 2010, 06:12:59 PM

Title: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: udha on January 31, 2010, 06:12:59 PM
As the subject explains, a tunnel I've started to use on Windows 7 is not querying DNS for AAAA, only A records.

I have not had this problem on this same computer under ubuntu, but now under Windows I cannot get a tunnel to be of much use, as all DNS queries are trying is A records. I have not come across this particular problem before but I'm new to Windows 7, maybe there's an option for IPv6 DNS defaults or something, I haven't found it though.
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: cholzhauer on January 31, 2010, 06:16:05 PM
Hmm...that's strange.  Is the tunnel set up on this machine or are you running through a router elsewhere?  Both my Vista and Win7 machines return AAAA records before A records.

What is your preference set to?  By default it's supposed to be AAAA over A, but I've seen other people on here mention that it is a customizable setting.
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: jimb on February 01, 2010, 12:22:09 AM
Is the resolver on your win7 box pointing to the same place your linux box is?
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: bombcar on February 01, 2010, 07:49:46 AM
Does dig ipv6.google.com aaaa work? Or the Windows equivalent?
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: cholzhauer on February 01, 2010, 07:57:20 AM
Unfortunately Windows is behind on this...you're limited to "nslookup"
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: udha on February 01, 2010, 05:52:54 PM
Thanks for the replies, I'll try and answer it all here, with some helpful network information too:

ipconfig /all output:
Code: [Select]
C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : UNIT-03
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SURECOM EP-320X-R 100/10M PCI Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-44-XX-XX-XX
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b997:dfe8:XXXX:XX0a%13(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.192.0.104(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.192.0.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, 2 February 2010 10:44:10 AM
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 3 February 2010 10:44:10 AM
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.192.0.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.192.0.1
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301990468
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-E3-FF-BD-12-EB-86-XX-XX-00

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:20::2
                                       10.192.0.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{BCDC0503-69A3-4100-958F-3D55ED27A08C}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:cf2e:3096:2881:2154:8db2:d67(Preferred)
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2881:2154:8db2:d67%15(Preferred)
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter IP6Tunnel:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Direct Point-to-point Adapater
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Cronjob running every 5 minutes from a dedicated off-site server:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
# Checks for IPv4 endpoint and updates tunnel if changed

# Setting up variables

#???IPV4ADDR = The new IPv4 Endpoint (AUTO to use the requesting client's IP address)
OLDIPV4ADDR=`cat /scripts/tunnel.ip`
NEWIPV4ADDR=`dig +short homenetwork.dynalias.net`

#MD5PASS = The MD5 Hash of your password
MD5PASS=e73b86dd334797eddc03ff48f3476acc

#USERID = The UserID from the main page of the tunnelbroker (not your username)
USERID=9be3af7f5f1066dd08b6e807b9e7c9fb

#GTUNID = The Global Tunnel ID from the tunnel_details page
GTUNID=22555

if [ $OLDIPV4ADDR == $NEWIPV4ADDR ];
then
        echo $OLDIPV4ADDR remains unchanged, no action taken.
else
        echo Updating OLD IP: $OLDIPV4ADDR to NEWIP: $NEWIPV4ADDR
        wget -q --no-check-certificate https://ipv4.tunnelbroker.net/ipv4_end.php\?ipv4b=$NEWIPV4ADDR\&pass=$MD5PASS\&user_id=$USERID\&tunnel_id=$GTUNID -O out.htm
        echo $NEWIPV4ADDR > /scripts/tunnel.ip
fi

nslookup works fine too:
Code: [Select]
C:\>nslookup ipv6.google.com 10.192.0.1
Server:  UnKnown
Address:  10.192.0.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    ipv6.l.google.com
Address:  2001:4860:c004::68
Aliases:  ipv6.google.com

Using Wireshark shows NO AAAA requests when trying to visit ipv6.google.com in Firefox, IE8, and Chrome. Using NSLOOKUP is querying AAAA, other apps aren't getting that same treatment. I hope someone can see something revealing in the info above :)
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: broquea on February 01, 2010, 06:09:35 PM
Your Windows machine only seems to have Teredo connectivity, that is the first thing that leaps out at me. Are you actually configuring a tunnel with us on this machine, or have dhcpv6/RA configured somewhere on the same LAN? I ask because I don't see any evidence of that on the Windows machine output.
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: cholzhauer on February 01, 2010, 06:13:34 PM
Agreed with broquea...try a
Code: [Select]
netsh int teredo set state disabled
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: jimb on February 01, 2010, 07:00:37 PM
Unfortunately Windows is behind on this...you're limited to "nslookup"
Nah.  You can get named and all the tools (including dig) right from ISC (http://oldwww.isc.org/sw/bind/view/?release=9.6.2b1&noframes=1#DOWNLOADS).  I use dig all the time on windows. 

I've run a caching NS on a Windows laptop a few times when I'm annoyed at some DNS server on a wifi hotspot or whatever.

Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: udha on February 01, 2010, 07:39:45 PM
Agreed with broquea...try a
Code: [Select]
netsh int teredo set state disabled

I set that, and am not sure now what to do next, I have tried the commands I used originally to set up the tunnel, with errors this time:

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 114.77.242.152 72.52.104.74
You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network.
If joining a domain, go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try
again. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name.

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f04:71f::2
The object already exists.

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f04:71f::1
The object already exists.

Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: broquea on February 01, 2010, 08:17:43 PM
replace 114.77.242.152 with 10.192.0.104, you need to use your internal IP from your router/NAT appliance.

Quote
I set that, and am not sure now what to do next, I have tried the commands I used originally to set up the tunnel, with errors this time:

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 114.77.242.152 72.52.104.74
You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network.
If joining a domain, go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try
again. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name.

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add address IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f04:71f::2
The object already exists.

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add route ::/0 IP6Tunnel 2001:470:1f04:71f::1
The object already exists.


Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: udha on February 01, 2010, 08:57:43 PM
replace 114.77.242.152 with 10.192.0.104, you need to use your internal IP from your router/NAT appliance.

Ah right, thanks, how do I undo the tunnel stuff so I can re-add it properly?

C:\>netsh interface ipv6 add v6v4tunnel IP6Tunnel 10.192.0.104 72.52.104.74
You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. If joinin
g a domain, go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try ag
ain. If joining a workgroup, choose another workgroup name.

EDIT: I've just run "netsh int ipv6 reset" and am restarting, I'd say this has been the cause of my problems, that'll teach me not to read a massive *NOTE section :p
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: cholzhauer on February 02, 2010, 05:32:18 AM
im  on my phone so it's hard to tell, but have you tried resetting the ipv6 interfaces?
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: udha on February 04, 2010, 12:53:34 AM
im  on my phone so it's hard to tell, but have you tried resetting the ipv6 interfaces?

Thanks, I've done: netsh int ipv6 reset
but still can't add the tunnels back, is there a better way to reset/remove the tunnel?
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: jimb on February 04, 2010, 01:07:51 AM
netsh int ipv6 delete interface IP6Tunnel

If that doesn't work, get the index name from "netsh int ipv6 show interface" and use the above command with the index.

You may also have to use "persistent" at the end.  

EDIT:  Works For Me(TM):

netsh int ipv6 add v6v4tunnel Test 10.10.10.10 20.20.20.20
Ok.

netsh int ipv6 show interface
Querying active state...

Idx  Met   MTU    State         Name
---  ----  -----  ------------  -----
  8     1   1280  Disconnected  Test
  7     2   1280  Connected     Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
  6     0   1500  Disconnected  Local Area Connection
  5     0   1500  Disconnected  Local Area Connection 2
  4     0   1280  Connected     Wireless Network Connection
  3     1   1280  Connected     6to4 Pseudo-Interface
  2     1   1280  Connected     Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
  1     0   1500  Connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface

netsh int ipv6 delete interface Test
Ok.

netsh int ipv6 show interface
Querying active state...

Idx  Met   MTU    State         Name
---  ----  -----  ------------  -----
  7     2   1280  Connected     Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
  6     0   1500  Disconnected  Local Area Connection
  5     0   1500  Disconnected  Local Area Connection 2
  4     0   1280  Connected     Wireless Network Connection
  3     1   1280  Connected     6to4 Pseudo-Interface
  2     1   1280  Connected     Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
  1     0   1500  Connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface


You may also have to hose the default route with: netsh int ipv6 delete route ::/0 <interface or index>
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: udha on February 07, 2010, 04:06:21 PM
You may also have to hose the default route with: netsh int ipv6 delete route ::/0 <interface or index>

Thanks jimb, I'm having touble with the syntax of this command though.

Does anyone know the specific input it is expecting?
Title: Re: Win7 not querying DNS for AAAA, only A
Post by: jimb on February 07, 2010, 06:34:07 PM
You may also have to hose the default route with: netsh int ipv6 delete route ::/0 <interface or index>

Thanks jimb, I'm having touble with the syntax of this command though.

Does anyone know the specific input it is expecting?
That IS the specific input.  See my previous message.

netsh int ipv6 delete route help

Usage: delete route [prefix=]<IPv6 address>/<integer> [interface=]<string>
             [[nexthop=]<IPv6 address>]
             [[store=]active|persistent]

Parameters:

       Tag                Value
       prefix           - Prefix of route to delete.
       interface        - Interface name or index.
       nexthop          - Gateway address, if prefix is not on-link.
       store            - One of the following values:
                          active: Deletion only lasts until next boot.
                          persistent: Deletion is persistent (default).

Remarks: Deletes an IPv6 route.

Example:

       delete route 3ffe::/16 "Internet" fe80::1


Of course, you might not have that route in your routing table, or may have added it as 2000::/3, or not at all.