Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

General IPv6 Topics => IPv6 on Linux & BSD & Mac => Topic started by: Tymanthius on April 24, 2012, 05:24:38 PM

Title: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 24, 2012, 05:24:38 PM
I can ping v6 addresses, but not names.  ipv6test.google.com gets 'unknown host', but if I go look up the IP it pings fine.  Same for opendns's servers.

Running Ubuntu 10.04

My set up goes like this:

I have ipv6 dns server addresses in the resolv.conf file

I know it has to be something simple, but I'm not sure what.

Any thoughts?
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: cholzhauer on April 24, 2012, 06:33:16 PM
I didn't know that was a real site.

Other than that, we're going to need some more information like config files and what dns server you're using
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 24, 2012, 06:52:22 PM
The only IPv6 dns server I'm using is the HE one.

Which config files?

Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: broquea on April 24, 2012, 07:14:33 PM
ipv6.google.com
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 25, 2012, 10:29:14 AM
Some additional information that may, or may not help.

I am getting what appears to be valid IPv6 addresses on my network.  However, only one of the nic's in my server is assigned a valid IPv6. 

I'm useing the steps outlined here: http://forum.zentyal.org/index.php/topic,2758.msg42582.html#msg42582

That doesn't seem to assign a v6 IP to both nics.  Therefore, while I can ping external ipv6 addresses from the server I can not from any client pc's.

Thanks for helping me learn all this.  :)
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 25, 2012, 11:41:57 AM
ipv6.google.com

Just figured out this was a correction.  Thanks. 

I can ping ipv6.google.com from the server & I get pings back.  I ping it from a client & it resolves, but no pings back, 100% packet loss.  I even tried putting the google ipv6 dns servers in manually on the client.

Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: cholzhauer on April 25, 2012, 11:42:58 AM
What range are you using for addresses?  Your /48?
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 25, 2012, 01:38:42 PM
What range are you using for addresses?  Your /48?

No, the /64.  I haven't set up a /48 yet.  Right now, I'm just trying to get it working.  I'll play w/ subnets later.
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: cholzhauer on April 26, 2012, 05:12:51 AM
what does traceroute show?  It's possible that your routed /64 is broken (assuming everything is configured correctly)
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 26, 2012, 07:42:11 AM
what does traceroute show?  It's possible that your routed /64 is broken (assuming everything is configured correctly)

From a windows 7 client machine, all requests timed out.  :/

I THINK it is related to the my post above about how i don't have a global v6 address on both nics in the server/router machine.  But I'm not yet sure how to fix that.
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: cholzhauer on April 26, 2012, 07:44:13 AM
Yeah, you're going to have to assign every interface a public address

so, if you have a router with two interfaces (inside and outside)

You've already taken care of your outside interface (that's the ::2) you assigned before.

On the inside interface you assign an ip address out of your routed /64 and have all connected devices route traffic to that

It's the same as you would do in IPv4, just with IPv6 addresses
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 26, 2012, 08:11:09 AM
Yeah, you're going to have to assign every interface a public address

so, if you have a router with two interfaces (inside and outside)

You've already taken care of your outside interface (that's the ::2) you assigned before.

On the inside interface you assign an ip address out of your routed /64 and have all connected devices route traffic to that

It's the same as you would do in IPv4, just with IPv6 addresses

Makes perfect sense to me.  How do I calculate a proper IP address?  I have no idea in v6. 

Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: broquea on April 26, 2012, 08:12:45 AM
start at prefix::1 and continue until prefix:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff (if using a /64) :D
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 26, 2012, 08:32:36 AM
start at prefix::1 and continue until prefix:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff (if using a /64) :D

Smart arse!  LOL.

So the below should work:

Quote
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:78:d2:d7:b8:16
          inet addr:72.219.26.49  Bcast:72.219.27.255  Mask:255.255.254.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f0e:1034::1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::1278:d2ff:fed7:b816/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:353280 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:233285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:467718435 (467.7 MB)  TX bytes:24317252 (24.3 MB)
          Interrupt:33 Base address:0x6000

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:78:d2:f3:2c:52
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f0e:1034::3/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::1278:d2ff:fef3:2c52/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:30362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:39006 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:10075884 (10.0 MB)  TX bytes:42270942 (42.2 MB)
          Interrupt:34 Base address:0x2000

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f0e:1034::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::48db:1a31/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:3626 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:3707 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:289876 (289.8 KB)  TX bytes:286456 (286.4 KB)

If so, then it's not working, b/c I still can't ping out from my client machines weather I use names or IP's.

And is this "2001:470:1f0e:1034" the prefix part?

I thought I understood basic networking until I dove into v6.  Sigh.  But I'm learning, albeit slowly.  Curse the aging process!
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: broquea on April 26, 2012, 08:34:50 AM
No, use the ROUTED /64, not the tunnel's /64. These will be different, and that difference will be in BOLD

2001:470:1f0e:1034::1 is HE's side of the tunnel and shouldn't be configured locally.
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 26, 2012, 08:37:48 AM
No, use the ROUTED /64, not the tunnel's /64. These will be different, and that difference will be in BOLD

2001:470:1f0e:1034::1 is HE's side of the tunnel and shouldn't be configured locally.

That may be my problem.  I was following someone's guide, and it seemed wierd, but I wasn't sure enough to change it.  I'll go edit some things & report back.
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 26, 2012, 08:55:27 AM
Ok, now I look like this:

Quote
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:78:d2:d7:b8:16
          inet addr:72.219.26.49  Bcast:72.219.27.255  Mask:255.255.254.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f0f:1034::1/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::1278:d2ff:fed7:b816/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:6020 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1872 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1093831 (1.0 MB)  TX bytes:251012 (251.0 KB)
          Interrupt:32 Base address:0x2000

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 10:78:d2:f3:2c:52
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f0f:1034::3/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::1278:d2ff:fef3:2c52/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2325 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2263 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:343562 (343.5 KB)  TX bytes:763219 (763.2 KB)
          Interrupt:34 Base address:0x6000

he-ipv6   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
          inet6 addr: 2001:470:1f0f:1034::2/64 Scope:Global
          inet6 addr: fe80::48db:1a31/128 Scope:Link
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:200 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:206 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:20608 (20.6 KB)  TX bytes:19552 (19.5 KB)


But not much change.  If I ping ipv6.google.com from a client it resolves to 2001:4860:4002:801::1013, but no replies come back.  Pings fine from the server.

I from the client I only get ping responses from my ::3 address.

This is my win 7 client:

Quote
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : tymanthius.net
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:470:1f0f:1034:acc3:3578:a207:2312
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2001:470:1f0f:1034:2c52:9c0e:6cc2:30b0
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::acc3:3578:a207:2312%14
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.121
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::1278:d2ff:fef3:2c52%14
                                       192.168.1.1

That default gateway listing looks suspicious to me.  Shouldn't it be the global address of the eth1 above?  (eth0 is my external facing nic, eth1 is internal facing).
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: broquea on April 26, 2012, 09:00:45 AM
If you are using RADVD, then your clients' default gateway will be the link-local address of the advertising router's LAN facing interface. When I trace to 2001:470:1f0f:1034:acc3:3578:a207:2312 I get a route-loop between your Linux machine acting as router and the tunnel-server, which means you've got some sort of bad/wedged/stuck route or something on the Linux machine. You might want to check your routing table on the Linux machine. If you aren't using RADVD and instead have statically/manually configured Windows with an IPv6 address, then you should also be manually setting the default route to point to the IP configured on the LAN facing interface.
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 26, 2012, 09:08:00 AM
If you are using RADVD, then your clients' default gateway will be the link-local address of the advertising router's LAN facing interface. When I trace to 2001:470:1f0f:1034:acc3:3578:a207:2312 I get a route-loop between your Linux machine acting as router and the tunnel-server, which means you've got some sort of bad/wedged/stuck route or something on the Linux machine. You might want to check your routing table on the Linux machine. If you aren't using RADVD and instead have statically/manually configured Windows with an IPv6 address, then you should also be manually setting the default route to point to the IP configured on the LAN facing interface.

I am using radvd, I will check the route tables.

<edit>

Here's the routing table.  I just realized I don't really know how to read it.  :((

Quote

Destination                    Next Hop                   Flag Met Ref Use If
2001:470:1f0f:1034::/64        ::                         Un   256 0  8179 he-ipv6
2001:470:1f0f:1034::/64        ::                         U    256 0     0 eth0
2001:470:1f0f:1034::/64        ::                         U    256 0     0 eth1
fe80::/64                      ::                         U    256 0     0 eth1
fe80::/64                      ::                         U    256 0     0 eth0
fe80::/64                      ::                         Un   256 0     0 he-ipv6
fe80::/64                      ::                         U    256 0     0 tap0
::/0                           ::                         U    1024 0     0 he-ipv6
::/0                           ::                         !n   -1  1  8679 lo
::1/128                        ::                         Un   0   2    29 lo
2001:470:1f0f:1034::/128       ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
2001:470:1f0f:1034::/128       ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
2001:470:1f0f:1034::/128       ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
2001:470:1f0f:1034::1/128      ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
2001:470:1f0f:1034::2/128      ::                         Un   0   1    32 lo
2001:470:1f0f:1034::3/128      ::                         Un   0   1    55 lo
fe80::/128                     ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
fe80::/128                     ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
fe80::/128                     ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
fe80::48db:1a31/128            ::                         Un   0   1   250 lo
fe80::1278:d2ff:fed7:b816/128  ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
fe80::1278:d2ff:fef3:2c52/128  ::                         Un   0   1    33 lo
fe80::30bf:6eff:fe14:f35b/128  ::                         Un   0   1     0 lo
ff00::/8                       ::                         U    256 0     0 eth1
ff00::/8                       ::                         U    256 0     0 eth0
ff00::/8                       ::                         U    256 0     0 he-ipv6
ff00::/8                       ::                         U    256 0     0 tap0
::/0                           ::                         !n   -1  1  8679 lo

Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 30, 2012, 10:57:35 AM
Would love if someone could point me to a good site/book that would teach me about IPv6 routing tables. 

I''ve been searching, but I seem to be missing a key point of understanding that will allow the rest to fall into place.  :/ 
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: cholzhauer on April 30, 2012, 11:00:59 AM
There is nothing magical...it's the same thing as IPv4.  The only thing you need to keep in mind is that ::/0 is the same as 0.0.0.0

In this case your default route is pointing to your HE interface
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 30, 2012, 11:36:48 AM
There is nothing magical...it's the same thing as IPv4.  The only thing you need to keep in mind is that ::/0 is the same as 0.0.0.0

In this case your default route is pointing to your HE interface

I know I sound like an idiot, but I just can't seem to make sense of the routing table.  I've never really had to look at tables before, so I didn't realize my lack until now.

Which line in my table tells you my default route?  I *think* I can figure out how to change it, IF I can figure out how to read the table. 
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: broquea on April 30, 2012, 11:37:50 AM
This is the default route

Code: [Select]
::/0                           ::                         U    1024 0     0 he-ipv6
If this is the machine the tunnel terminates on, you don't want to change that.
Title: Re: No IPv6 DNS
Post by: Tymanthius on April 30, 2012, 11:49:55 AM
This is the default route

Code: [Select]
::/0                           ::                         U    1024 0     0 he-ipv6
If this is the machine the tunnel terminates on, you don't want to change that.

Ok.  That is the machine that the tunnel terminates on.  But according earlier someone did a tracert to my ipv6 address and it seemed to route to itself. 

Any ideas on that?  b/c if I'm reading this correctly my default route is set properly, at least for outbound connections, but I can't actually get out on IPv6 on any client machines.