Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IPV6 for local network?  (Read 5106 times)

bianet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
IPV6 for local network?
« on: July 06, 2010, 09:52:43 AM »

Hello!

I am newbie with ipv6 and route2. I have HE tunnel to my ipv4 network and I want to use ipv6 address on any pc/server. Can I use this He's tunnel with /64 to route more IPv6 from the same /64 network? Can anybody show me example config for client's IP config? Tunnel work perfect and from the gateway I see IPv6 sites.

Thanks,
Gustav
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 09:55:47 AM »

Yep, you can assign IP's out of the routed /64 to hosts on your network.

You really don't need any config on the clients...how were you planning on assigning addresses?  Router Advertisement? Static? DHCPv6?
Logged

bianet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2010, 12:18:12 PM »

Thank you for the fast answer!
May be both static and DHCP. I looking for statis example at this time.

Best regards,
Gustav
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2010, 12:26:59 PM »

Static is harder ;)

What OS are you looking to use?
Logged

bianet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2010, 12:41:10 PM »

Mandriva Linux 2010 or any other Linux with 2.6.30+ kernel
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Logged

bianet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2010, 12:49:36 AM »

Yes I was read this and is helpfull document, but I make any mistake.
This is my config from the site for the gw:

modprobe ipv6
ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 216.66.80.30 local 84.252.55.6 ttl 255
ip link set he-ipv6 up
ip addr add 2001:470:1f0a:152c::2/64 dev he-ipv6
ip route add ::/0 dev he-ipv6
ip -f inet6 addr


And I add this line to route via eth0:
ip addr add 2001:470:1f0a:152c::2/64 dev eth0

On other computer setup is:
ip -6 addr add 2001:470:1f0a:152c::3/64 dev eth0
optional default route is:    # I can ping from client the gw witout this default gw route
ip -6 route add ::/0 via 2001:470:1f0a:152c::2

from client pc can do ping6 2001:470:1f0a:152c::2 whithout -I eth0
from the gw I can do ping6 -I eth0 2001:470:1f0a:152c::3 only with -I eth0

May be here is the problem, but I can not see where?!

when the default route is setuped on client pc can not route external addresses like ipv6.google.com or www.kame.net

Best Regards,
Gustav
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2010, 04:58:45 AM »

Can you post the output of "ifconfig" and "netstat -nr" ?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2010, 05:01:01 AM »

Oh, I just saw this

Quote
And I add this line to route via eth0:
ip addr add 2001:470:1f0a:152c::2/64 dev eth0

That IP address is incorrect...for eth0, you have to assign an address out of the routed /64 assigned to you by HE

Same goes for this

Quote
On other computer setup is:
ip -6 addr add 2001:470:1f0a:152c::3/64 dev eth0

That ::3 address won't work; you'll need to assign an address out of the routed /64 assigned to you by HE
Logged

bianet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: IPV6 for local network?
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2010, 06:18:00 AM »

mhmm I understand. This is the answer for my first question! Thanks!

Have a nice day,
Gustav
Logged