Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?  (Read 4615 times)

bombcar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« on: October 21, 2010, 11:22:42 AM »

I had an error in my DNS, I have a TTL of 84600, and I can't pass the mail test; I think the cache is pulling the old data.

Is there a way to use he's servers to verify it's a caching issue and not something else? I've tried to resolve from a few places but since this domain is IPv6 only it's been a bit difficult.

http://www.nabber.org/projects/dnscheck/?domain=ipadapplesale.com&ipv6=on&nocache=on

looks good but it doesn't show the MX test.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2010, 11:35:24 AM »

Use http://network-tools.com/nslook/ and specify HE's name servers (one at a time; there are five).
Logged

bombcar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2010, 11:54:12 AM »

Are they ns1-ns5.he.net? Because I get a straight-up failure on them with that tool.

Isn't that the same as:

dig @ns1.he.net google.com

which fails because they don't recurse?
Logged

bombcar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2010, 09:44:42 AM »

Yay it was the caching. Sage, yo.
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2010, 12:25:05 PM »

Re-Reply #2:  Yes, those are the servers' names.  However, do not query them with type "ANY" as they don't seem to support that.  A query with a specific RR-type should work.
Logged

bombcar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2010, 04:51:23 PM »

Hmm. They don't love me:
Code: [Select]
dig @ns1.he.net ipadapplesale.com aaaa

; <<>> DiG 9.7.1 <<>> @ns1.he.net ipadapplesale.com aaaa
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 45353
;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipadapplesale.com.             IN      AAAA

;; Query time: 27 msec
;; SERVER: 216.218.130.2#53(216.218.130.2)
;; WHEN: Fri Oct 22 16:48:40 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 35

I have my suspicions about a domain that has NOTHING but AAAA available, and no A glue.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2010, 06:14:16 PM »

Not seeing us host that domain (not a webhosting account, not in dns.he.net...), so no idea why you are querying AUTHORITATIVE servers and think they are CACHING RECURSORS:

Code: [Select]
 Domain servers in listed order:
      IPV6.IPADAPPLESALE.COM
      NS1.IPADAPPLESALE.COM

NS1-5.HE.NET != caching recursors
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 06:16:17 PM by broquea »
Logged

bombcar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2010, 09:27:43 AM »

That's what I thought. There's no way to see what he.net sees.
Logged

lukec

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • Home
Re: Is there a way to see what he's servers see?
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2010, 02:07:20 PM »

Forgive me for plagerising broquea

HE do run recursive nameservers for their co-location customers and their tunnelbroker.net users.
If you look at your tunnel's details page, HE list the anycasted IPv4
and IPv6 address of the recursor. Their recursor also participates in the
Google Whitelisting.

I made the same mistake...
Regards
lukec
Logged