Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: I don't understand the failure at the sage test  (Read 3207 times)

nboullis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
I don't understand the failure at the sage test
« on: January 14, 2011, 05:14:52 AM »

Hi,

I'm currently trying to pass the sage test with no success. You can see a screenshot attached to this message.

I really don't understand the "Output: No Record" part, since, as far as I can tell, all 7 servers for the .fr TLD have valid AAAA record, and all are known by the root servers... So what does it mean? Is there something I'm completely failing to understand, or is there a bug in the test?

Note: FWIW, ilcode.fr is currently served by IPv4-only servers, but I asked my registrar, and it should be fixed within the next 24 or 48 hours...
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: I don't understand the failure at the sage test
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2011, 07:29:41 AM »

Try trimming off the "test-he." bit.
Logged

nboullis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: I don't understand the failure at the sage test
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2011, 12:12:36 PM »

Try trimming off the "test-he." bit.
Okay, I could pass the test, and I think I now understand how it works. But as I understand it, it means one cannot pass the test with a subdomain, isn't it right? Why not allow the use of any domain, and try to perform a full recursive lookup with a IPv6-only client?

Thanks for your help.
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
Re: I don't understand the failure at the sage test
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2011, 01:15:08 PM »

Its for the DIRECT query portion of the test against the TLD servers, hostname/subdomain doesn't work 100%, using the trimmed domain does.
Logged