Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Professional rDNS (Which address?)  (Read 2714 times)

andronicus

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Professional rDNS (Which address?)
« on: September 30, 2011, 01:05:49 PM »

Hi everyone,

I've been enjoying going through the testing so far, but this one's got me stumped.

For the rDNS setup for the professional (MX) test.  Do I use the tunnel IPv6 address, or the subnet that was assigned to me?  Also, can I use the HE.net DNS service for this?

My server is set up with the tunnel, but I can't figure out how to add a PTR record for it.  If I have to set my server up with an IP from the subnet, I don't really know how.  Do I have to set it up as the router and use that IP?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2011, 01:07:22 PM by andronicus »
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Professional rDNS (Which address?)
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 01:07:08 PM »

You use the subnet that was assigned to you (HE doesn't delegate DNS for the tunnel subnet to you)

Logged

andronicus

  • readonly_member
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Professional rDNS (Which address?)
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 01:33:45 PM »

So if I have a tunnel set up on my server, I should assign the gateway IP of the /64 subnet to the tunnel interface, then assign another ip in the subnet to my NIC with the default gateway set as the tunnel interface?
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2732
Re: Professional rDNS (Which address?)
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2011, 09:39:12 AM »

You have to use the ::2 address of the "tunnel /64" when you make your tunnel.  (It sounds like your tunnel is already working, so you did this right)

You then assign an address out of the "routed /64" to whatever interface connects to the rest of your LAN

Hope that makes sense
Logged