Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: radvd broadcasts wrong router address  (Read 3533 times)

simonszu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
radvd broadcasts wrong router address
« on: August 25, 2011, 04:05:41 AM »

Hi there,

i have a linux box as a homeserver in my network which should act as the tunnel endpoint and as the router advertising daemon stuff. This box is NOT my "default router" which enables the PPPoE connection to my ISP.

I have successfully established a tunnel with the example configuration. I can ping and trace several IPv6 adresses.

Now i would like to broadcast the v6-autoconf-stuff into my network, so my other machines have IPv6 as well. I installed radvd and confed it, but the result is, that my Macbook configures itself as follows:

It has two IPv6 addresses, they are 2001:470:1f1f:1b78:223:6cff:fe84:c6e7 and 2001:470:1f1f:1b78:7dbd:1f01:5cec:4dfb.
The router is fe80::211:24ff:fe74:8f58.

I can't ping or trace from my Macbook to any adress. I think the problem is, that my Macbook gets the wrong router address. fe80... is the loopback address from the ethernet adapter in the debian box.

Could you please help me? I am wondering why my Macbook gets two iPv6-addresses as well...

My network config looks like this:
Code: [Select]
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:11:24:74:8f:58 
          inet Adresse:192.168.1.4  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Maske:255.255.255.0
          inet6-Adresse: 2001:470:1f15:1b78::1/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Global
          inet6-Adresse: fe80::211:24ff:fe74:8f58/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metrik:1
          RX packets:6242 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10024 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:1000
          RX bytes:771846 (753.7 KiB)  TX bytes:1032299 (1008.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:41 Basisadresse:0xb000

lo        Link encap:Lokale Schleife 
          inet Adresse:127.0.0.1  Maske:255.0.0.0
          inet6-Adresse: ::1/128 Gültigkeitsbereich:Maschine
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metrik:1
          RX packets:463 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:463 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
          RX bytes:70045 (68.4 KiB)  TX bytes:70045 (68.4 KiB)

sit0      Link encap:IPv6-nach-IPv4 
          inet6-Adresse: ::192.168.1.4/96 Gültigkeitsbereich:Kompatibilität
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metrik:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

sit1      Link encap:IPv6-nach-IPv4 
          inet6-Adresse: 2001:470:1f14:1b78::2/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Global
          inet6-Adresse: fe80::c0a8:104/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
          UP PUNKTZUPUNKT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metrik:1
          RX packets:457 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:422 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0
          RX bytes:54707 (53.4 KiB)  TX bytes:46590 (45.4 KiB)

My radvd.conf looks like this:
Code: [Select]
interface eth0 {
   AdvSendAdvert on;
   prefix 2001:470:1f15:1b78:: /64
   {
        AdvAutonomous on;
        AdvOnLink on;
        AdvRouterAddr on;
        };
};
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2731
Re: radvd broadcasts wrong router address
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2011, 05:14:46 AM »

I have two questions

1) Why isn't your linux box your default router?  As far as your IPv6 network is concerned, your tunnel endpoint is your default router.
2) You're telling RADVD to use 2001:470:1f15:1b78:: /64 but your macbook is showing 2001:470:1f1f:1b78::/64  Is there something else on your network that is handing out addresses? 
Logged

simonszu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: radvd broadcasts wrong router address
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 05:37:29 AM »

1) Well, with "default router" i mean the device which enables the PPPoE connection to my ISP. I have a WRT which does this. I just wanted to say that the debian box is "just a pc in the network".

2) No, there is no other service which broadcasts addresses, but this is what happened: Every time i edit a file, debian creates a backup with a trailing ~. And for some reasons, radvd did not read its config from radvd.conf but from radvd.conf~.
I have deleted the ~-file, and now my Macbook has this config:
Two IPs, 2001:470:1f15:1b78:223:32ff:fec1:c0e0 and 2001:470:1f15:1b78:51f8:a88e:e86a:440 and still the router address starting with fe80.

I checked the usual testing sites again, kame.net shows me the dancing turtle now, but sixxs does not show my v6-address.
Since i am able to ping and trace over v6 now, i think my radvd works correctly now.
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2731
Re: radvd broadcasts wrong router address
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 05:43:19 AM »

FWIW your gateway address will be an FE80 address.
Logged