Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: IPv6 Configuration not working on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.5  (Read 11277 times)

mikegazza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
IPv6 Configuration not working on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.5
« on: November 21, 2008, 08:22:34 AM »

Hi, i am an experienced IPv6 user, i mean i use IPv6 stack since 2002. I've configured it on many operating systems.
Also on Tiger, last year, things were good.

Now i'm on Leopard 10.5.5.

I've configured on tunnelbroker.net a tunnel, so i've tried to configure IPv6 with Leopard's GUI. No success.
I've understood that Leopard's GUI is bugged, so i've open my beloved Terminal.

I've entered command reported in tunnelbroker's configurations script for NetBSD/Mac OS, without success.

The problem it's (in my opinion) the default route, infact TCP6 packets sent are ok, but i get no TCP6 replies:
Code: [Select]
bash-3.2# cat /sbin/ipv6
#!/bin/bash
ifconfig gif0 tunnel 79.47.112.126 216.66.84.42
ifconfig gif0 inet6 2001:470:1f12:48e::2 2001:470:1f12:48e::1 prefixlen /128
route -n add -inet6 default 2001:470:1f12:48e::1

bash-3.2# ipv6
add net default: gateway 2001:470:1f12:48e::1
bash-3.2# ping6 2001:470:1f12:48e::1
PING6(56=40+8+8 bytes) 2001:470:1f12:48e::2 --> 2001:470:1f12:48e::1
^C
--- 2001:470:1f12:48e::1 ping6 statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

bash-3.2# bash-3.2# host -t aaaa tunnelbroker.net
tunnelbroker.net has IPv6 address 2001:470:0:63::2
bash-3.2# ping6 tunnelbroker.net
ping6: nodename nor servname provided, or not known
bash-3.2# ifconfig
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
gif0: flags=8051<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
tunnel inet 79.47.112.126 --> 216.66.84.42
inet6 fe80::216:cbff:fea2:f0cd%gif0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
inet6 2001:470:1f12:48e::2 --> 2001:470:1f12:48e::1 prefixlen 128
stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet6 fe80::216:cbff:fea2:f0cd%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
inet 192.168.1.3 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
ether 00:16:cb:a2:f0:cd
media: autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control>) status: active
supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control> none
fw0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 2030
lladdr 00:16:cb:ff:fe:57:69:ac
media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 00:14:51:ee:a9:31
media: autoselect (<unknown type>) status: inactive
supported media: autoselect
gif1: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
bash-3.2#


Any solution?

Thanks in advance

Michele Gazzaruso
Logged

mikegazza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IPv6 Configuration not working on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.5
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 10:04:33 AM »

SOLVED:

In the case (just like me) you are in a system within there is a router (so you are behing a NAT) you must create the tunnel between *your LAN ip* and he.net endpoint, not between your public IP and he.net endpoint.



Code: [Select]
ifconfig gif0 tunnel 192.168.1.3 he.net.endpoint

I think it could be added in the guidelines, it's not he.net fault.. but it might be useful for other people.

Good bye and thank you for the service.

Michele Gazzaruso
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
Re: IPv6 Configuration not working on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.5
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 10:48:37 AM »

If you look under the example configs we provide, we have a small blurb about that:

Code: [Select]
*NOTE* When behind a firewall appliance that passes protocol41, instead of using the IPv4 endpoint you provided to our broker, use the IPv4 address you get from your appliance's DHCP service.
Logged

mikegazza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IPv6 Configuration not working on Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.5
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2008, 11:52:22 AM »

You are right.. sorry about that..

Greetings,

Michele Gazzaruso
Logged