Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Need help configuring tunnel locally  (Read 3334 times)

kerryhall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Need help configuring tunnel locally
« on: May 28, 2013, 12:20:45 PM »

I have my desktop and an RPi behind my router. I figured my RPi is a great place to test setting up my tunnel.

I have ssh'd to my RPi from my desktop, and started to run the commands for "Linux-route2".

modprobe ipv6

seems to work fine, but then my ssh session hangs on:

ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 216.218.226.238 local 71.37.7.116 ttl 255

and I can't ssh back in, meaning to me that I killed networking on my RPi. Any ideas? Thanks!
Logged

cholzhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2734
Re: Need help configuring tunnel locally
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2013, 12:21:48 PM »

Since you're behind your router, you need to use the NAT address of your device.
Logged

kerryhall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Need help configuring tunnel locally
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 12:42:02 PM »

You mean the local RFC 1918 address? ie, 192.168.0.41?

So the command should be:

ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 216.218.226.238 local 192.168.0.41 ttl 255

Sorry for the noob questions, just want to be absolutely clear. Thanks!
Logged

broquea

  • Sr. Network Engineer, HE.NET AS6939
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1736
Re: Need help configuring tunnel locally
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2013, 12:42:49 PM »

correct
Logged

kerryhall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Need help configuring tunnel locally
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2013, 12:47:50 PM »

Running:

ip tunnel add he-ipv6 mode sit remote 216.218.226.238 local 192.168.0.41 ttl 255

Killed my ssh session as well. That shouldn't happen even if the info is wrong though, correct? Since that is just setting up the interface?
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: Need help configuring tunnel locally
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2013, 11:19:02 PM »

I have my desktop and an RPi behind my router. I figured my RPi is a great place to test setting up my tunnel.
On the router itself would be the best place to set up the tunnel. That of course requires a router, which supports it.

Killed my ssh session as well.
When you have opened the ssh connection, try to type echo $SSH_CONNECTION such that you know a bit more about the connection before you kill it.
Logged