Hurricane Electric's IPv6 Tunnel Broker Forums

Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Hurricane Electric's Tunnelbroker.net forums!

Author Topic: Having a slight problem on Sage level test  (Read 3254 times)

mriella

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Having a slight problem on Sage level test
« on: March 10, 2014, 10:21:47 AM »

I'm stuck on the Sage level test where I'm getting "Delegation chain not complete for IPv6-only" over and over.  Here's where I'm at:

When I initially started the tests, I created an ipv6.domain.com record for testing the HTTP server test (I think that was Explorer or Enthusiast).  Since then ipv6.domain.com has stuck with me and followed me to the Sage test.  On this test, my domain (domain.com) is hosted with Godaddy under their free DNS management.  I have an AAAA record created for ipv6.domain.com and my DNS servers are the standard ns41 and ns42 domaincontrol.com servers.  I'm somewhat lost as to what I need to do to fix this.  I've read everything regard IPv6 Glue and Godaddy supposedly supports IPv6 Glue on the .com TLD though I'm still a little confused.  What do I need to do to fix this?
Logged

snarked

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
Re: Having a slight problem on Sage level test
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2014, 01:14:08 PM »

Do the servers that you are using at GoDaddy have AAAA records?  If not, change servers.
Logged

kasperd

  • Founder, Netiter ApS
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
Re: Having a slight problem on Sage level test
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2014, 02:05:23 PM »

What do I need to do to fix this?
What is the domain name? Without knowing the domain name, we can't figure out what your problem is.
Logged

kcochran

  • Sr. Network Engineer, Hurricane Electric
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
Re: Having a slight problem on Sage level test
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2014, 02:30:13 PM »

This is the usual chicken-and-egg problem so many DNS providers get wrong.

ns4[12].domaincontrol.com have no glue in the .com zone.  So we have to query for the domain primaries in the root.  Those come back as ans0[12].domaincontrol.com.  Guess what they don't have in the .com zone?  Now, they do know their own AAAAs, but that doesn't help for a IPv6-only resolver.
Logged

mriella

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Having a slight problem on Sage level test
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2014, 07:25:39 PM »

That more or less answered my question.  I ended up converting my domains to HE.net's DNS servers and it worked.  Just waiting on my t-shirt :D
Logged